Friday, January 27, 2023
HomeSportsWorld Darts Championship 2022/23: Today’s order of play as Peter Wright begins...

World Darts Championship 2022/23: Today’s order of play as Peter Wright begins title defence

- Advertisement -

The 2022/23 PDC World Darts Championship begins this Thursday evening with reigning champion Peter ‘Snakebite’ Wright up against either Mickey Mansell or Ben Robb in the final match of the session. 

Mansell and Robb will get the £2.5 million tournament underway, with the winner set to return later on that night to face Wright for a spot in the last 32 after Christmas. 

A field of 96 players representing 28 different countries are set to compete at the Alexandra Palace in London during the 30th edition of the PDC World Darts Championship. 

MORE: Join DAZN to stream the World Darts Championship in the US and Canada

Thursday, December 15 from 19:00 GMT 

Mickey Mansell (Northern Ireland) vs. Ben Robb (New Zealand) – Round 1 

Keane Barry (Republic of Ireland) vs. Grant Sampson (South Africa) – Round 1 

Jermaine Wattimena (Netherlands) vs. Nathan Rafferty (Northern Ireland) – Round 1 

Peter Wright (Scotland) vs. Mansell/Robb – Round 2 

MORE: World Darts Championship 2022/23 draw, schedule, results, seeded players

Who are the former winners of the PDC World Darts Championship? 

Phil ‘The Power’ Taylor is the most successful player in PDC World Darts Championship history having won the title 14 times, with his victories spanning from 1995 to 2013. Taylor also won two BDO World Championship titles in 1990 and 1992.  

However, Dennis Priestley claimed the first PDC World Darts Championship in 1994 when he defeated Taylor 6-1 in the final. 

In total, just ten players have won the PDC World Darts Championship. 

  • Phil Taylor – 14 times (1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2013) 

  • Michael van Gerwen – 3 times (2014, 2017, 2019) 

  • John Part – 2 times (2003, 2008) 

  • Adrian Lewis – 2 times (2010, 2011) 

  • Gary Anderson – 2 times (2015, 2016) 

  • Peter Wright – 2 times (2020, 2022) 

  • Dennis Priestley (1994) 

  • Raymond van Barneveld (2007) 

  • Rob Cross (2018) 

  • Gerwyn Price (2021)

Where is the PDC World Darts Championship held? 

The PDC World Darts Championship is held at the Alexandra Palace in north London. The tournament has been staged there every year since the 2007/08 edition. 

Prior to this, the event was staged at the Circus Tavern in Purfleet, Essex from when the tournament began in 1993/94.


- Advertisment -

Most Popular