Wednesday, February 1, 2023
HomeSportsWho won the FIFA World Cup Golden Glove award? Argentina star Emiliano...

Who won the FIFA World Cup Golden Glove award? Argentina star Emiliano Martinez clinches 2022 best goalkeeper trophy

- Advertisement -

Lionel Messi sealed his first ever World Cup title as Argentina secured an iconic penalty shootout win over France in the Qatar 2022 finale.

Messi’s two goals, and Kylian Mbappe’s hat trick, were the huge post-match storylines in Lusail, but Argentina goalkeeper Emiliano Martinez was once again the hero for Lionel Scaloni.

Martinez played a crucial role in Argentina’s march to the final with his experience providing a solid base for Scaloni’s charges in the Middle East.

Messi clinched the Golden Ball award at the final whistle, but Martinez’s Golden Glove trophy was just reward for Argentina’s No.1 after a super tournament in Qatar.

MORE: World Cup awards tracker 2022: List of all the FIFA honors as they are unveiled in Qatar

Who is Emiliano Martinez?

Martinez — affectionately nicknamed Dibu by the squad — has emerged as hero for Argentina fans following his international debut in 2021, with a rapid rise to become first choice for Scaloni.

The Aston Villa star was drafted in as a late addition to the squad ahead of a crunch 2021 World Cup qualifier against Chile, and he has not looked back, playing a huge part in their 2021 Copa America success and 2022 World Cup glory.

A 2020 switch to Villa transformed his career, after years of loan spells and deputy roles at Arsenal, and his calmness under pressure and bravery in tense situations has elevated his status for La Albiceleste.

What is the World Cup Golden Glove?

The Golden Glove award was introduced by FIFA ahead of the 1994 World Cup, and was originally named the Lev Yashin Trophy, in recognition of the legendary former Soviet Union goalkeeper, up until 2006.

The first award was scooped up by Belgium Michel Preud’homme (1994), before being won by Fabian Barthez (1998), Oliver Kahn (2002) and Gianluigi Buffon (2006).

Following the change of name, the award continues to be decided by FIFA’s technical committee shortly after the final, with Iker Casillas (2010), Manuel Neuer (2014) and Thibaut Courtois (2018) all winning it.

How did Emiliano Martinez win the 2022 World Cup Golden Glove?

Martinez has been ever present for Argentina since the start of Qatar 2022 playing every minute in each of their seven games, including a vital role in the final.

Despite changes to the defense in front of him, Martinez remained composed, despite Argentina’s shock 2-1 defeat in their Group C opener against Saudi Arabia.

He backed that up with clean sheets against Mexico and Poland, before conceding a freak own goal in the 2-1 Round of 16 win over Australia.

However, his big moment came in the penalty shootout win over the Netherlands at the quarterfinal stage, as saves from Virgil van Dijk and Steven Berghuis set Argentina on course for the last four.

Despite not facing as much pressure as other goalkeepers in Qatar — with an average of fewer than two shots on target against ahead of the final — he stood up in the key moments with the final serving as his defining night.

*Video available in UK

Mbappe got the better of Martinez three times from the spot, including in the shootout, but his save from Kingsley Coman set the tone, as Argentina battled over the line.

Has Emiliano Martinez won the World Cup Golden Glove before?

This is Martinez’s first World Cup Golden Glove win and he becomes the first Argentinian to win it, or the previous Lev Yashin Trophy.

He join Messi in winning a personal award at Qatar 2022 as Enzo Fernandez also picked up the FIFA Young Player Award.


- Advertisment -

Most Popular