Thursday, March 30, 2023
HomeSportsWhen is FIFA Club World Cup final? Full details as Real Madrid,...

When is FIFA Club World Cup final? Full details as Real Madrid, Flamengo favorites for 2023 title

- Advertisement -

The 2023 FIFA Club Cup final will pit two sides from different corners of the planet against each other in a battle to be crowned world champion.

Real Madrid are the favourites to win the tournament, as they aim for a fifth title in the competition, and Carlo Ancelotti looks to match Zinedine Zidane’s pair of world titles at the club level.

Flamengo, who lost 1-0 to Liverpool in the 2019 title match, are also in with a strong chance of glory, alongside North American champions Seattle Sounders of the USA and African champions Wydad Casablanca of Morocco.

The stakes are high ahead of this clash and here are all the important match details for the final in Rabat.

MORE: FIFA Club World Cup prize money for 2023 tournament

When is the FIFA Club World Cup final 2023?

The FIFA Club World Cup final 2023 takes place on Saturday, February 11 at the Prince Moulay Abdellah Stadium in Rabat, Morocco, with kickoff at 20:00 local time.

Here’s how that translates into time zones across some of the world’s major territories. 

  Date Kickoff time
Australia Sun, Feb. 12 06:00 AEDT
Canada Sat, Feb. 11 14:00 ET
Hong Kong Sun, Feb. 12 03:00 HKT
India Sun, Feb. 12 00:30 IST
Malaysia Sun, Feb. 12 03:00 MYT
New Zealand Sun, Feb. 12 08:00 NZDT
Singapore Sun, Feb. 12 03:00 SGT
UK Sat, Feb. 11 19:00 GMT
USA Sat, Feb. 11 14:00 ET

MORE: Complete 2023 FIFA Club World Cup schedule, results and highlights

Who is playing in the FIFA Club World Cup 2023?

Teams qualify for the FIFA Club World Cup based on winning their respective continental title in the previous season with Real Madrid representing the European region (UEFA) as the 2022 Champions League winners.

Continental winners from the other regions include South American champions Flamengo and African champions Wydad Casablanca.

Region Team Qualified As Best Club World Result
Africa Al Ahly (EGY)* CAF Champions League runners-up
Africa Wydad Casablanca (MOR) CAF Champions League winners Second Round (2017)
Asia Al-Hilal (KSA) AFC Champions League winners
Europe Real Madrid(SPA) UEFA Champions League winners Winners (2014, 2016, 2017, 2018)
North America Seattle Sounders (USA) CONCACAF Champions League winners
Oceania Auckland City (NZ) OFC Champions League winners Semifinals (2014)
South America Flamengo (BRA) Copa Libertadores winners Runners up (2019)

*Al Ahly were granted the berth designated to the host nation’s champion because Moroccan champions Wydad Casablanca had already automatically qualified by winning the African title.

MORE: Complete rundown of the teams in the FIFA Club World Cup 2023

FIFA Club World Cup format

The tournament is structured with the European and South Americans sides receiving a bye directly into the semifinal stage as the lower ranked teams play in the earlier rounds.

Al Ahly defeated Auckland City in the sole First Round game and advanced to face the Seattle Sounders in the Second Round, with Al-Hilal vs. Wydad Casablanca the other match of the round.

Real Madrid and Flamengo will be waiting for the two Second Round winners in the semifinals. Los Blancos will take on the Seattle Sounders vs. Al Ahly winner, with Flamengo battling Al-Hilal or Wydad Casablanca.

The winners of the two semifinals will face off in a final on Saturday, February 11.

All games are single-elimination knockout style featuring the standard 90 minutes, with extra time and penalties only used if teams are deadlocked at the end of regulation.

MORE: Why FIFA referees are using microphones to announce VAR decisions

FIFA Club World Cup Final live stream, TV channel

This FIFA Club World Cup match will be played at the Prince Moulay Abdellah Stadium. Here’s how you can watch all the action in some of the major global territories.

  TV channel Streaming
Australia SBS SBS On Demand
Canada FIFA+, YouTube
Hong Kong SPOTV SPOTV NOW
India Sports18 Jio
Malaysia SPOTV SPOTV NOW
New Zealand Sky Sports NZ FIFA+, YouTube
Singapore SPOTV SPOTV NOW
UK FIFA+, YouTube
USA FS2, Fox Deportes fuboTV, Fox Sports site/app


Credit: sportingnews.com

RELATED ARTICLES
- Advertisment -

Most Popular