Thursday, March 23, 2023
HomeSportsWhat channel is Real Madrid vs Atletico Madrid? How to watch Copa...

What channel is Real Madrid vs Atletico Madrid? How to watch Copa del Rey quarterfinal on TV

- Advertisement -

Real Madrid will face their intra-city rivals Atletico Madrid in a Copa del Rey quarterfinal match that will determine which team advances to the semifinals of the competition.

The Madrid derby matchups are always high-strung affairs, but the tension spiked in the lead-up with Atletico supporters once again targeting Real’s Brazilian forward Vinicius Jr with racist abuse, hanging an effigy of the player from a bridge near the club’s training base. Both Real and Atletico issued strong statements condemning the act.

Vinicius should be extra motivated to get his first career goal against his club’s rivals and help Real Madrid move closer to ending a Copa del Rey drought that has run nearly a decade since they last hoisted the trophy in April 2014. Atletico won it the season before (2013) and are on a similar dry spell with neither Madrid side even reaching the final during the span since their last triumph.

Real will be hosting this single elimination match due to the luck of the quarterfinal draw. There must be a winner on the day with extra time and penalties, if necessary, used in case of a draw after 90 minutes.

Extra time will likely be needed. These two teams have played in five winner-take-all matchups in their history, and all five have gone to extra time: Champions League (2014, 2016), UEFA Super Cup (2018), Spanish Supercopa (2020), and Copa del Rey (2013). Atletico Madrid won two of them (UEFA Super Cup and Copa del Rey).

La Liga leaders Barcelona and Osasuna are the first two 2023 Copa del Rey semifinalists after advancing on Wednesday. The remaining semifinalist will come from the Valencia vs. Athletic Club matchup also happening on Thursday. The semifinal draw takes place on Friday.

MORE: Updated La Liga table

What channel is Real Madrid vs Atletico Madrid on today?

It will take some searching to find a legal stream or broadcast of the Madrid derby, depending on where in the world you’re based.

Below we provide some reliable resources and guides to help you figure out whether you’re able to tune in to a legal stream or broadcast.

MORE: Updated La Liga top scorers race

Real Madrid vs Atletico Madrid TV channel

According to LiveSoccerTV and 90min, only a few of the regions below will be able to watch a live stream of the Real Madrid vs. Atletico Madrid quarterfinal: ESPN+ in the USA and ViaPlay in the UK, both of which require a subscription to view.

In countries in which Bet365 operates, the stream is available for registered users of the sports betting site who have a funded account and have made a bet in a specific window of time.

  Date Time TV channel Streaming
Australia Fri, Jan. 27 07:00 AEDT
Canada Thu, Jan. 26 15:00 ET
Hong Kong Fri, Jan. 27 04:00 HKT
India Fri, Jan. 27 01:30 IST
Malaysia Fri, Jan. 27 04:00 MYT
New Zealand Fri, Jan. 27 09:00 NZDT
Singapore Fri, Jan. 27 04:00 SGT
UK Thu, Jan. 26 20:00 GMT ViaPlay
USA Thu, Jan. 26 15:00 ET ESPN+

How to watch Real Madrid vs Atletico Madrid around the world

The Copa del Rey is the oldest domestic cup competition in Spain, founded in 1903. But the coverage of the competition is not as widespread globally as league play from Spain with La Liga running a full season from August through May.

Fans around the world need to do their homework to find out how to watch the remaining Copa del Rey matches in the competition. LiveSoccerTV offers a guide.

Africa

North Africa will be served by beIN Sports, while sub-Saharan Africa will see the matches carried by Star Times.

Asia

beIN Sports also serves many Arab countries and Iran, with Setanta carrying the matches for Afghanistan (in addition to Voot and MTV), Uzbekistan (UzReport as well), and Kazakhstan.

Many countries don’t have a listed carrier: Japan, South Korea, Southeast Asia, Thailand, Vietnam, and Indonesia.

Europe

Countries like Spain (Movistar+), France (L’Equipe), Sweden (Sport Bladet Play), Denmark (TV2 Sport), Turkey (Tivibor Spor 2), Hungary (Sport 2 Hungary), Czech Republic and Slovakia (Sport 1), and the Balkan countries (Arena Sport and Moja TV) can tune in.

However, other nations like the UK, Ireland, Portugal, Belgium, Germany, Austria, Poland, and Italy will likely have to pursue the Bet365.com route if the betting site is legal in those territories. The UK does have streaming available on ViaPlay through Sky Sports and Virgin Media.

North America

Fans in the USA can stream the matches in the same place they get their La Liga action: ESPN+. But there are no listed carriers in Canada.

Sky will air the matches in Mexico and parts of Central America.

Oceania

Unfortunately, there is no broadcaster or streamer carrying the matches in Australia and New Zealand and fans will have to explore the Bet365 option if legally available in those countries.

South America

Several Spanish-speaking countries will be able to watch it on DirecTV Sports (Paraguay will have it on Tigo Sports), while the matches will be carried by Star+ in Brazil.


Credit: sportingnews.com

RELATED ARTICLES
- Advertisment -

Most Popular