Friday, January 27, 2023
HomeSportsWas Argentina penalty kick the correct decision? Debate rages on whether Angel...

Was Argentina penalty kick the correct decision? Debate rages on whether Angel Di Maria was fouled by Ousmane Dembele

- Advertisement -

Argentina headed in at the halftime break with a 2-0 lead over France in the 2022 World Cup final as they aim for a first World Cup title since 1986.

Lionel Messi and Angel Di Maria have been the protagonists for Argentina in Lusail with a goal each for the veteran pair in the opening 45 minutes.

However, the early stages featured a major moment of controversy, as Di Maria went down under a challenge from Ousmane Dembele inside the French penalty area.

Polish referee Syzmon Marciniak immediately pointed to the spot, and Messi slotted home a fourth penalty of Qatar 2022, but the debate has raged over whether it was the correct call.

MORE: World Cup final: Argentina vs France live score, highlights, result as Messi strikes first from penalty spot

Why did Marciniak award a penalty?

Marciniak awarded the spot kick as Dembele appeared to catch Di Maria’s trailing leg as he skipped past his initial challenge into the penalty box.

*Video available in UK

*Video available in US

However, replays have proved to be very inconclusive, with contact from the Dembele appearing to be minimal, as Di Maria took a tumble.

Was Argentina penalty the correct decision?

Social media has exploded with debate over the decision, as Dembele protested his innocence, and Di Maria’s experience saw him receive a friendly decision.


Credit: sportingnews.com

RELATED ARTICLES
- Advertisment -

Most Popular