Friday, March 24, 2023
HomeSportsVFL 2023: Fixtures, start date, results, goalkickers, best players, ladder

VFL 2023: Fixtures, start date, results, goalkickers, best players, ladder

- Advertisement -

Victorian Football League’s 2023 season will commence in March and once again be the primary second-tier competition to the AFL.

Despite having ‘Victoria’ in its name, the league also features teams from New South Wales and Queensland – with only the South Australian and West Australian AFL clubs not participating with ‘reserves’ teams.

The competition will largely be the same in 2023 but will include a newly-introduced ‘wildcard round’.

The Sporting News explains everything you need to know about the upcoming VFL season.

MORE: Could the VFL ‘Wildcard Round’ be a precursor for the AFL?

VFL 2023 fixtures, start date and grand final schedule

The VFL 2023 fixture list has not been released yet – with the most likely reasoning due to the competition needing to sort out venues for the upcoming season

It has been confirmed to start on the weekend of March 25-26 – which will be during the second round of the AFL season.

Six teams will qualify direct for finals while the the four teams from 7th-10th will playoff in a ‘wildcard round’.

The VFL Grand Final will be held on Sunday, September 24, on the weekend before the September 30 AFL Grand Final.

Which clubs and teams will be in VFL 2023?

VFL 2023 will feature the same 21 teams that competed in the 2022 edition.

AFL standalone clubs

  • Brisbane Lions
  • Carlton
  • Collingwood
  • Essendon
  • Footscray Bulldogs (Western Bulldogs)
  • Geelong
  • Gold Coast Suns
  • GWS Giants
  • North Melbourne
  • Richmond
  • Sydney

AFL-aligned clubs

  • Box Hill Hawks (Hawthorn)
  • Casey Demons (Melbourne)
  • Sandringham (St Kilda)

VFL standalone clubs

  • Coburg
  • Frankston
  • Northern Bullants
  • Port Melbourne
  • Southport Sharks
  • Werribee
  • Williamstown

What is the new VFL ‘wildcard round’?

Similar to what occurs in American sports prior to the playoffs, four VFL teams will get the opportunity to qualify for the finals after the season has been completed.

Firstly, the top six teams on the VFL ladder at the end of the home and away season will qualify for the finals.

The four teams finishing from 7th to 10th will playoff in a sudden death match the week after the regular season finishes (7v10, 8v9), with two winners progressing to the final eight finals teams.

This ‘wildcard round’ will be held on the weekend of August 26-27 and the six finals teams not participating will enjoy a week off before the finals begin.

Where do the reserves for Adelaide, Port Adelaide, West Coast and Fremantle play?

Four AFL clubs do not use the VFL competition as a feeder or ‘reserves’ league for their senior teams.

The South Australian clubs – Adelaide and Port Adelaide – have ‘reserves’ teams of the same in the South Australian Football League (SANFL).

AFL clubs based in Western Australia – West Coast and Fremantle – use the West Australian Football League (WAFL) as their feeder competition.

West Coast use a team of the same name, while Fremantle are affiliated with Peel Thunder.


- Advertisment -

Most Popular