Friday, February 3, 2023
HomeSportsUndefeated NFL teams: 1972 Dolphins pop champagne as Eagles' quest for NFL...

Undefeated NFL teams: 1972 Dolphins pop champagne as Eagles’ quest for NFL history ends

- Advertisement -

Taylor Heinicke might be getting a Christmas card from Larry Csonka.

The Eagles were the lone remaining undefeated squad in the 2022 NFL season, but that came to a screeching halt on “Monday Night Football” in Week 10, when Heinicke and the Commanders handed the Eagles their first loss of the 2022 season.

The L for the Eagles is a massive W for the Dolphins; Specifically, the 1972 Dolphins, the last and only undefeated squad in NFL history, who are now celebrating their unique title for a 50th year.

MORE: How the Commanders upended the Eagles, handed team their first loss of 2022

While the Eagles weren’t knocking on the ’72 Dolphins’ door (and, to be fair, they weren’t even on the same block), it’s still a cause for celebration for the surviving members of the team — including Csonka, who sent a message of thanks to the Commanders after their win:

“Thank you #WashingtonCommanders As in 2020 when you knocked out the #Steelers I’m a Washington fan tonight!,” Csonka tweeted.

Washington head coach Ron Rivera would notice Csonka’s tweet, simply offering a “Your (sic) welcome!” tweet in response.

Many have tried, but only one team has captured perfection in NFL history, leading to champagne bottles being popped once again on Monday night.

Undefeated NFL teams

Only one team has ever gone wire-to-wire to secure an undefeated season: The 1972 Miami Dolphins, who went 14-0 in the regular season and 3-0 in the playoffs to win Super Bowl 7 over Washington.

There are only three other teams that have flirted with perfection in NFL history:

  • The 1934 Bears, who lost in the NFL championship game vs. the Giants
  • The 1942 Bears, who lost in the NFL championship game vs. Washington
  • The 2006 New England Patriots, who went undefeated in the regular season, eventually losing to the Giants in Super Bowl 42

1972 Dolphins roster, surviving players

As of Nov. 15, 2022, 28 members of the 1972 Dolphins are alive, including quarterback Bob Griese and running backs Csonka and Mercury Morris. Head coach Don Shula unfortunately passed in May 2020.

MORE: Bob Griese makes cut for Miami Mount Rushmore of Sports 

Here’s the roster from the undefeated ’72 Dolphins:

Player Position
Dick Anderson DB
Charlie Babb DB
Larry Ball LB
Marlin Briscoe* WR
Nick Buoniconti* MLB
Doug Crusan T
Larry Csonka RB
Jim Del Gaizo QB
Vern Den Herder DL
Jim Dunaway* DL
Norm Evans T
Manny Fernandez DL
Marv Fleming TE
Tim Foley DB
Hubert Ginn RB
Bob Griese QB
Bob Heinz DL
Mike Howell* DB
Al Jenkins OL
Ed Jenkins RB
Curtis Johnson DB
Jim Kiick* RB
Howard Kindig T
Mike Kolen LB
Bob Kuechenberg* LG
Jim Langer* OL
Charlie Leigh* RB
Larry Little OL
Billy Lothridge* P
Jim Mandich* TE
Bob Matheson* MLB
Maulty Moore DT
Wayne Moore* T
Earl Morrall* QB
Mercury Morris RB
Lloyd Mumphord DB
Jesse Powell* LB
Jake Scott* DB
Larry Seiple P
Bill Stanfill* DL
Otto Stowe WR
Doug Swift LB
Howard Twilley WR
Paul Warfield WR
Garo Yepremian* K


1972 Dolphins schedule

The Dolphins played a 14-game regular season schedule and a three-game playoff run en route to their first (and only) Super Bowl victory. Here’s how they ran the table:

Week Opponent Score
1 at Kansas City Chiefs 20-10
2 vs. Houston Oilers 34-13
3 at Minnesota Vikings 16-14
4 at New York Jets 27-17
5 vs. San Diego Chargers 24-10
6 vs. Buffalo Bills 24-23
7 at Baltimore Colts 23-0
8 at Buffalo Bills 30-16
9 vs. New England Patriots 52-0
10 vs. New York Jets 28-24
11 vs. St. Louis Cardinals 31-10
12 at New England Patriots 37-21
13 at New York Giants 23-13
14 vs. Baltimore Colts 16-0
Divisional playoff vs. Cleveland Browns 20-14
AFC Championship at Pittsburgh Steelers 21-17
Super Bowl 7 (Los Angeles) vs. Washington 14-7


- Advertisment -

Most Popular