Friday, January 27, 2023
HomeSportsMr. Olympia winners by year: Arnold Schwarzenegger, Ronnie Coleman top the list...

Mr. Olympia winners by year: Arnold Schwarzenegger, Ronnie Coleman top the list of bodybuilders with most wins

- Advertisement -

The annual Mr. Olympia bodybuilding competition runs from Friday night through Saturday in Las Vegas this weekend. 

Mamdouh Elssbiay, known as ‘Big Ramy,’ is aiming for his third consecutive Mr. Olympia title after wins in 2020 and 2021. While three wins would be a huge achievement for Elssbiay, he still would have a long way to go to rank among the most successful competitors in Mr. Olympia history.

The nearly 50-year history of the Mr. Olympia competition includes big names such as Arnold Schwarzeneggar and Lou Ferrigno, but who has the most titles? 

MORE: Dates, times, live stream to watch Mr. Olympia 2022

The Sporting News takes a look at Mr. Olympia’s most successful competitors and recent winners.

Who has the most Mr. Olympia wins?

While Schwarzenegger may be the most well-known bodybuilder in Mr. Olympia history, Lee Haney and Ronnie Coleman have both surpassed his mark of seven titles. Phil Heath tied Schwarzenegger’s mark in 2017.

Mr. Olympia prize money breakdown: How much do the winners make in 2022?

While ‘Big Ramy’ has a chance to become only the ninth man to win three Mr. Olympia titles this year, there is still quite a climb ahead if he wants to join the ranks of Coleman and Haney. 

Titles Competitor Years
8 Ronnie Coleman 1998-2005
8 Lee Haney 1984-1991
7 Arnold Schwarzenegger 1970-1975, 1980
7 Phil Heath 2011-2017
6 Dorian Yates 1992-1997
4 Jay Cutler 2006-2007, 2009-2010
3 Frank Zane 1977-1979
3 Sergio Oliva 1967-1969
2 Franco Columbo 1976, 1981
2 Mamdouh Elssbiay 2020-2021
2 Larry Scott 1965-1966

How many times did Arnold Schwarzenegger win Mr. Olympia?

Arnold Schwarzenegger is the most well-known bodybuilder in Mr. Olympia history, and he also ranks among the most successful.

Schwarzenegger won seven Mr. Olympia competitions, including six consecutive titles from 1970-1975. He would win a seventh Mr. Olympia in 1980, padding his record. 

Schwarzenegger’s record was tied by Lee Haney in 1990 and broken the next year. Ronnie Coleman would later surpass Schwarzenegger’s mark and tie Haney, while Phil Heath tied Schwarzenegger in 2017 with his seventh title.

Schwarzenegger has become known globally for his acting career, which he later turned into a political career as the governor of California, but he remains involved in bodybuilding as the sponsor and namesake of the annual Arnold Sports Festival.

Mr. Olympia winners by year

After a brief period of parity following seven consecutive wins by Phil Health, ‘Big Ramy’ might be poised for his own run of dominance over the competition.

Year Name
2021 Mamdouh Elssbiay
2020 Mamdouh Elssbiay
2019 Brandon Curry
2018 Shawn Rhoden
2017 Phil Heath
2016 Phil Heath
2015 Phil Heath
2014 Phil Heath
2013 Phil Heath
2012 Phil Heath
2011 Phil Heath
2010 Jay Cutler
2009 Jay Cutler
2008 Dexter Jackson
2007 Jay Cutler
2006 Jay Cutler
2005 Ronnie Coleman
2004 Ronnie Coleman
2003 Ronnie Coleman
2002 Ronnie Coleman
2001 Ronnie Coleman
2000 Ronnie Coleman


- Advertisment -

Most Popular