Monday, February 6, 2023
HomeSportsMexico vs Saudi Arabia live: World Cup score, highlights, result from 2022...

Mexico vs Saudi Arabia live: World Cup score, highlights, result from 2022 Group C match

- Advertisement -

Mexico have been to the Round of 16 in seven straight World Cup tournaments, but if they don’t win — and perhaps win big — against Saudi Arabia, they will be looking at a group exit that El Tri hasn’t experienced at a World Cup since 1978.

Anything but a win would see Mexico eliminated. In the meantime, Mexico fans will be keeping an eye on the other match between Argentina and Poland.

A victory for Mexico coupled with a Poland win would see El Tri automatically qualify for the Round of 16. But a Poland loss or draw would mean tiebreakers come into play and the only way to guarantee they win those tiebreakers is by beating Saudi Arabia by four goals.

But Saudi Arabia will also be on a quest for a Round of 16 berth for only the second time in six World Cup appearances and first since 1994. The Falcons, who secured a famous 2-1 upset of Argentina in their opener only to lose 2-0 to Poland in their next game, have been one of the surprises of the tournament and El Tri will know they’re a threat to cause another upset.

Sporting News is tracking live scoring updates and highlights for Mexico vs. Saudi Arabia at the 2022 World Cup. Follow below for complete results from the Group C match in Qatar.

MORE: Best bets and prediction for Mexico vs. Saudi Arabia

Mexico vs Saudi Arabia score

  1H 2H Final
Mexico
Saudi Arabia

Goals:
None

Projected lineups:

Mexico (4-3-3, right to left): 13. Ochoa (GK) — 19. Sanchez, 3. Montes, 15. Moreno, 23. Gallardo — 17. Pineda, 4. Alvarez, 24. Chavez — 22. Lozano, 20. Martin, 10. Vega

Saudi Arabia (4-5-1, right to left): 21. Al-Owais (GK) — 12. Abdulhamid, 4. Al Amri, 5. Al Bulayhi, 2. Al-Ghannam — 9. Al-Buraikan 23. Kanno, 8. Al-Hassan, 16. Al-Najei, 10. Al-Dawsari — 11. Al-Shehri

Team PTS GP W L D GF GA GD
1. Poland 4 2 1 0 1 2 0 +2
2. Argentina 3 2 1 1 0 3 2 +1
3. Saudi Arabia 3 2 1 1 0 2 3 -1
4. Mexico 1 2 0 1 1 0 2 -2

MORE: Watch every World Cup match live with fuboTV (U.S.-only free trial)

Mexico vs Saudi Arabia live updates, highlights from 2022 World Cup

3 hrs 45 mins from kickoff: The game within the game is going to be the fan split at the Lusail Stadium. Mexican fans have shown up in big numbers, as have the Saudi Arabians. A home-field type atmosphere could help either side.

4 hrs from kickoff: Mexico fans will be dreaming of a 4-0 win against Saudi Arabia, because that would be enough :

Mexico vs Saudi Arabia lineups, team news

After the 5-3-2 against Argentina, it’ll be a return to the 4-3-3 for Tata Martino as his team seeks a lopsided win against Saudi Arabia. Center forward Henry Martin is expected to lead the line with attacking mid Orbelin Pineda introduced in midfield and right-back Jorge Sanchez re-taking his spot along the back line.

Mexico (4-3-3, right to left): 13. Ochoa (GK) — 19. Sanchez, 3. Montes, 15. Moreno, 23. Gallardo — 17. Pineda, 4. Alvarez, 24. Chavez — 22. Lozano, 20. Martin, 10. Vega

Saudi Arabia are without three players due to injury: Yasser Al-Shahrani, Mohammed Al-Burayk and Salman Al-Faraj. They also won’t have midfielder Abdulelah Al-Malki due to yellow card accumulation. Ali Al-Hassan is the projected replacement.

Saudi Arabia (4-5-1, right to left): 21. Al-Owais (GK) — 12. Abdulhamid, 4. Al Amri, 5. Al Bulayhi, 2. Al-Ghannam — 9. Al-Buraikan 23. Kanno, 8. Al-Hassan, 16. Al-Najei, 10. Al-Dawsari — 11. Al-Shehri

Mexico vs Saudi Arabia live stream, TV channel

This final Group C match will be played at Lusail Stadium. Here’s how you can watch all the action in some of the major global territories.

  Date Time TV Channel Streaming
USA Wed, Nov. 30 14:00 ET FS1
Telemundo
fuboTV,
Fox Sports site/app,
Telemundo Deportes site/app,
Peacock
Canada Wed, Nov. 30 14:00 ET TSN 2, RDS 2 (French) TSN site/app,
RDS app
UK Wed, Nov. 30 19:00 GMT BBC Two BBC iPlayer, BBC Sport website
Australia Thu, Dec. 1 06:00 AEDT SBS VICELAND SBS On Demand
India Thu, Dec. 1 00:30 IST Sports18 Voot, JioTV
Hong Kong Thu, Dec. 1 03:00 HKT Now TV (Ch. 617, 619) Now TV
Malaysia Thu, Dec. 1 03:00 MYT Astro Arena 2 Astro GO
Singapore Thu, Dec. 1 03:00 SGT StarHub FIFA World Cup,
Singtel FIFA World Cup 141
Singtel TV GO, CAST,
StarHub TV+, MeWatch
New Zealand Thu, Dec. 1 08:00 NZDT Sky Sport 1 NZ Sky Go, Sky Sport NOW

Watch the match on fuboTV in USA:


Credit: sportingnews.com

RELATED ARTICLES
- Advertisment -

Most Popular