Saturday, February 4, 2023
HomeSportsLogan Paul's quest for gold forces another GOAT-level challenge against Roman Reigns

Logan Paul’s quest for gold forces another GOAT-level challenge against Roman Reigns

- Advertisement -

If you were to ask someone who or what Logan Paul is, there’s a litany of different answers you could receive. 

YouTuber, podcaster, entrepreneur, boxer, celebrity – these are all titles that the 27-year-old can lay claim to since exploding through the social media scene in recent years. 

But what about WWE Champion? 

While seemingly unlikely given his transition into the pro wrestling industry has only spanned two matches to date, Paul will have the opportunity to land ‘one lucky shot’ when he squares off against Roman Reigns at the Crown Jewel pay-per-view on November 5th in Saudi Arabia. 

Paul made his in-ring debut back at WrestleMania, picking up the victory in tag-team action, before exceeding expectations in his first singles match with a victory over former world champion The Miz at SummerSlam. 

And now, in just his third official match, Paul will look to end the historic two-year title reign for ‘The Tribal Chief’ of WWE. 

In an interview supplied to The Sporting News, Paul spoke about the transition from social media star to boxing and now, into the pro wrestling industry. 

“It’s been an evolution of how people identify me when they see me in the streets, right?” he said.

“At first it was ‘The Vine Guy’, and then it became ‘I’ve seen your videos guy’. Then it became ‘The YouTube Guy’,  then it became “Paul Something, right? And then Logan Paul the ‘WWE Superstar’.

“After all these years, I feel like that title is the one with the most validity. Not that I need to be validated, but also it’s awesome that I’m validated with a title like that because immediately you get respect and at the end of the day, everyone just wants to be respected.

“I think it’s really hard to not respect someone who’s willing to get in that ring and sacrifice their body for the entertainment of millions of people.”

Paul is certainly a polarising figure, which might be the only thing he holds in common with his opponent at Crown Jewel.

Reigns spent a lengthy period of his career being maligned by much of the WWE fanbase. He was told that he couldn’t wrestle, that he was overrated, that he couldn’t cut a promo. Despite main-eventing multiple WrestleManias and winning multiple world titles, Reigns was never able to break through that imaginary glass ceiling. 

These factors forced Reigns to shift gears and ‘turn heel’ upon his return mid-way through 2020, and that led to the amazing run he’s on now that has seen him decimate the competition, defeating the likes of Brock Lesnar, Drew McIntyre, Goldberg and John Cena. 

But for Paul, he isn’t fazed by the opinion of wrestling fans and will be using their hatred for him as further fuel to the fire. 

“If the WWE fans don’t already respect me, after Crown Jewel in Saudi Arabia on November 5th, you will be forced to respect me,” he said.

“You might not like me. I might not be your favourite wrestler, but you will have to respect what I can do in that ring, and that’s my goal.

“I could give two s**** who likes me or not, but you will always acknowledge that when I get in that ring, you are going to be entertained…that’s my goal.”

Paul is not like other ‘celebrity’ wrestlers from years gone by and his future as a WWE superstar has no limit. This man has future world champion written all over him – not only does he have the star presence that only few in WWE possess, but he has the athleticism to match. 

And this encounter with Reigns, who is well on his way to cementing himself as the promotion’s GOAT, won’t be the first time Paul has had to stare greatness in the face and look to defy the odds.

Back in June 2021, Paul took one arguably the greatest boxer of all-time, Floyd Mayweather, in just his second fight.

While this was only labelled as an exhibition and Paul did come out on the losing end, the lessons he learned while sharing the ring with Mayweather have stuck with him. 

And when Paul steps in the ring with another GOAT-level performer in Reigns, he will be looking to take the same kind of lessons and implement them to his own wrestling career in the future. 

“I love knowledge, and when I take on the GOATs, it’s an opportunity for a masterclass for me,” he said.

“When I fought Floyd Mayweather, I wasn’t just fighting Floyd Mayweather, I was paying attention to every single nuanced movement that he did.

“One time I was by the ropes and he had me under his arm. The dude covered my mouth with his glove and stopped my breathing for like two breaths. An advanced move that only Floyd Mayweather would know because he has been boxing for 40 years.

“I’m positive Roman’s going to have some stuff up his sleeve and I’m going to be paying attention to all of it and use it and put it in my arsenal for when I become the WWE Champion.”

Paul and Reigns will headline a blockbuster Crown Jewel card in Riyadh, which will also feature a massive clash between Brock Lesnar and Bobby Lashley, as well as the WWE Raw Women’s Title match between Bianca Belair and Bayley. 

When does WWE Crown Jewel 2022 start? 

  • Date: Saturday, November 5
  • Pre-show: 11 a.m. ET | 4p.m. BST | 2 a.m. AEDT 
  • Main card: 12 p.m. ET | 5 p.m BST | 3 a.m. AEDT

WWE’s Crown Jewel event takes place on November 5. The pre-show begins at 11 a.m. ET | 4p.m. BST | 1 a.m. AEST. The main card PPV event should begin around 12 p.m. ET | 5 p.m BST | 3 a.m. AEDT. 

How to watch WWE Crown Jewel 2022

Crown Jewel will be available on pay-per-view or via Peacock for fans in the U.S. 

Outside of the U.S., Crown Jewel will be available on the WWE Network.


Credit: sportingnews.com

RELATED ARTICLES
- Advertisment -

Most Popular