Sunday, January 29, 2023
HomeSportsJapan vs Croatia live: World Cup score, highlights, result from 2022 Round...

Japan vs Croatia live: World Cup score, highlights, result from 2022 Round of 16 match

- Advertisement -

Japan’s reward for coming top of Group E sees them take on 2018 World Cup finalists Croatia in the Round of 16.

The Samurai Blue will fancy their chances, though, and be full of confidence having already beaten both Germany and Spain at this World Cup with their only defeat coming against Costa Rica.

Croatia are yet to show their best football, drawing with Morocco and Belgium, but did prove they are capable of bagging plenty of goals with a 4-1 win over Canada. 

But with the memories of 2018 heartbreak still fresh in Croatia’s memory, they’ll be determined not to let another World Cup opportunity pass them by. 

The Sporting News is tracking live scoring updates and highlights for Japan vs Croatia at the 2022 World Cup. Follow below for complete results from the Round of 16 match in Qatar.

MORE: Japan vs Croatia prediction, odds, betting tips and best bets for World Cup 2022 Round of 16

Japan vs Croatia score

  1H 2H Final
Japan
Croatia

Goals:
None

Projected lineups:

Japan projected lineup (3-4-3, right to left): 12. Gonda (GK) — 16. Tomiyasu, 22. Yoshida, 3. Taniguchi — 14. Ito, 17. Tanaka, 13. Morita, 5. Nagatomo — 8. Doan, 25. Maeda, 15. Kamada.

Croatia projected lineup (4-3-3, right to left): 1. Livakovic (GK) — 22. Juranovic, 6. Lovren, 20. Gvardiol, 19. Sosa — 10. Modric, 11. Brozovic, 8. Kovacic — 9. Kramaric, 14. Livaja, 4. Perisic. 

MORE: Watch every World Cup match live with fuboTV (U.S.-only free trial)

Japan vs Croatia live updates, highlights from 2022 World Cup

4 hrs 30 mins from kickoff: This will be the third World Cup meeting between Japan and Croatia, with Japan winless and goalless in the previous two – a 1-0 defeat in 1998 and a goalless draw in 2006, both in the group stage. Those two matches are also Croatia’s only previous World Cup games against an Asian nation.

5 hrs from kickoff: Hello and welcome to The Sporting News’ live coverage of Japan vs Croatia as the Round of 16 matches continue to come thick and fast. Let’s hope Japan have calmed themselves down after a truly incredible night last week that saw them top the group and dump out Germany!

Watch in UK:

Japan vs Croatia lineups, team news

After finding a winning formula against Spain, Japan will be forced into at least one change for this match with Kou Itakura suspended after picking up a second yellow card last time out. Miki Yamane or Takehiro Tomiyasu loom as his likely replacements. 

Ritsu Doan scored against Spain after replacing Takefusa Kubo at halftime and may be favoured from the off as a result of his impact. 

Japan projected lineup (3-4-3, right to left): 12. Gonda (GK) — 16. Tomiyasu, 22. Yoshida, 3. Taniguchi — 14. Ito, 17. Tanaka, 13. Morita, 5. Nagatomo — 8. Doan, 25. Maeda, 15. Kamada.

Zlatko Dalic has used the same starting XI for the past two games and it’s hard to see him making any changes for this one. 

Croatia also come into this match without any known injuries or suspensions. 

Croatia projected lineup (4-3-3, right to left): 1. Livakovic (GK) — 22. Juranovic, 6. Lovren, 20. Gvardiol, 19. Sosa — 10. Modric, 11. Brozovic, 8. Kovacic — 9. Kramaric, 14. Livaja, 4. Perisic. 

Japan vs Croatia live stream, TV channel

This Round of 16 match will be played at the Al Janoub Stadium on Monday, December 5.

Here’s how you can watch all the action in some of the major global territories.

  Date Time TV Channel Streaming
USA Mon, Dec. 5 10:00 ET Fox,
Telemundo
fuboTV,
Fox Sports site/app,
Telemundo Deportes site/app,
Peacock
Canada Mon, Dec. 5 10:00 ET TSN 1, RDS (French) TSN site/app,
RDS app
UK Mon, Dec. 5 15:00 GMT BBC One BBC iPlayer, BBC Sport website
Australia Tues, Dec. 6 02:00 AEDT SBS SBS On Demand
India Mon, Dec. 5 20:30 IST Sports18 Voot, JioTV
Hong Kong Mon, Dec. 5 23:00 HKT Now TV (Ch. 616, 618) Now TV
Malaysia Mon, Dec. 5 23:00 MYT Astro FIFA World Cup 1 Astro GO
Singapore Mon, Dec. 5 23:00 SGT StarHub FIFA World Cup,
Singtel FIFA World Cup 141
Singtel TV GO, CAST,
StarHub TV+, MeWatch
New Zealand Tues, Dec. 6 04:00 NZDT Sky Sport 7 beIN Sports Sky Go, Sky Sport NOW


Credit: sportingnews.com

RELATED ARTICLES
- Advertisment -

Most Popular