Saturday, February 4, 2023
HomeSportsIs Lionel Messi playing today? Full details and latest Argentina lineup news...

Is Lionel Messi playing today? Full details and latest Argentina lineup news ahead of World Cup semifinal

- Advertisement -

More eyes than ever have been on Lionel Messi at the 2022 World Cup as he appears at the tournament for a final time. 

The Argentina captain is yet to win the title but is now just two wins away from turning his lifelong dream into a reality. 

Messi has been in sensational form so far in Qatar and is vying for the Golden Boot have scored four goals to date. 

The 35-year-old will need to remain at his best if Argentina are to win their first World Cup since 1986. 

MORE: Argentina vs Croatia prediction, odds, betting tips and best bets

When is Messi’s next World Cup match?

Argentina will next play Croatia in the 2022 World Cup semifinals on Tuesday, December 13. 

Messi has played every minute of the tournament so far and is expected to once again feature heavily in this match having scored and assisted in the quarterfinals. 

The Argentina star has found the back of the net twice in previous matches against Croatia, but was on the wrong end of a 3-0 defeat when these two sides last faced off in the group stages of the 2018 World Cup. 

Regardless of the result against Croatia, Messi and Argentina are guaranteed to play another match in Qatar – whether that be a final or third-place playoff, only time will tell.

Argentina match schedule and results

Date Match Time (ET) Stadium
Tue, Nov. 22 Argentina 1 Saudi Arabia 2 5:00 a.m. Lusail Stadium
Sat, Nov. 26 Argentina 2 Mexico 0 2:00 p.m. Lusail Stadium
Weds, Nov. 30 Poland 0 Argentina 2 2:00 p.m. Stadium 974
Sat, Dec. 3 Argentina 2 Australia 1 2:00 p.m. Ahmad Bin Ali Stadium
Fri, Dec. 9 Argentina 2 Netherland 2 (pens 4-3, aet) 2:00 p.m. Lusail Stadium
Tue, Dec. 13 Argentina vs Croatia 2:00 p.m. Lusail Stadium

Argentina knockout round schedule because they finished 1st in Group C

Date Stage Match Time (ET) Stadium
Sat, Dec. 17* Third Place Match TBC 10:00 a.m. Khalifa International Stadium
Sun, Dec. 18 Final TBC 10:00 a.m. Lusail Stadium

*Only in event of defeat in semifinals

Argentina vs Croatia live stream, TV channel

This first semifinal clash will be played at the Lusail Stadium. Here’s how you can watch all the action in some of the major global territories.

  Date Time TV Channel Streaming
USA Tue, Dec. 13 14:00 ET Fox,
Telemundo
fuboTV,
Fox Sports site/app,
Telemundo Deportes site/app,
Peacock
Canada Tue, Dec. 13 14:00 ET TSN 1, CTV, RDS (French) TSN site/app, CTV website,
RDS app
UK Tue, Dec. 13 19:00 GMT ITV 1, STV ITVX, STV Player
Australia Wed, Dec. 14 06:00 AEDT SBS SBS On Demand
India Wed, Dec. 14 00:30 IST Sports 18 Voot, JioTV
Hong Kong Wed, Dec. 14 03:00 HKT Now TV (Ch. 616, 618) Now TV
Malaysia Wed, Dec. 14 03:00 MYT Astro FIFA World Cup 1 Astro GO
Singapore Wed, Dec. 14 03:00 SGT StarHub TV FIFA World Cup,
Singtel FIFA World Cup 141
Singtel TV GO, CAST,
StarHub TV+, MeWatch
New Zealand Wed, Dec. 14 08:00 NZDT Sky Sport 7 beIN Sports Sky Go, Sky Sport NOW

MORE: Watch every World Cup match live with fuboTV (U.S.-only free trial)


Credit: sportingnews.com

RELATED ARTICLES
- Advertisment -

Most Popular