Friday, March 24, 2023
HomeSportsIndigenous and Maori All Stars announce squads for upcoming NRL pre-season clash

Indigenous and Maori All Stars announce squads for upcoming NRL pre-season clash

- Advertisement -

The Indigenous and Maori All Stars have unveiled star-studded squads for the upcoming pre-season clash, which will be held in New Zealand for the first time on February 11th. 

With COVID in the rear-view mirror, the NRL announced plans last year to take the game across the ditch and give back to the Kiwi fans who have been starved of football through the 2020, 2021 and 2022 seasons. 

Roosters star Joseph Manu will headline a strong Maori All Stars squad, with premiership-winning Penrith prop James Fisher-Harris and Raiders enforcer Joseph Tapine also confirmed for the clash.

On the Indigenous side of the ledger, Latrell Mitchell and Josh Addo-Carr will be front and centre, while young guns Tyrell Sloan and Ezra Mam will be out to impress.

MORE: Dragons re-sign local junior | Papenhuyzen returns to Australia after US trip

The men’s match will follow the women’s clash earlier in the evening, as well as a touch football All Stars match. 

Kennedy Cherrington, Kirra Dibb and Taliah Fuimaono will all be in action for their respective sides in the women’s All Stars match. 

The annual All Stars match will feature during stacked NRL trial schedule, which includes the inaugural Pre-Season Challenge, which will see the winning club win $100,000. 

Men’s NRL All Stars confirmed squads

Maori All Stars

Jesse Arthars, Daejarn Asi, Nelson Asofa-Solomona, Zach Dockar-Clay, James Fisher-Harris, Corey Harawira-Naera, Morgan Harper, Royce Hunt, Joseph Manu, Zane Musgrove, Briton Nikora, Hayze Perham, Adam Pompey, Jordan Rapana, Jordan Riki, Joseph Tapine, Starford Toa, Jared Waerea-Hargreaves, Dylan Walker, Dallin Watene-Zelezniak

Indigenous All Stars

Joshua Addo-Carr, Bailey Butler, Selwyn Cobbo, Tyrell Fuimaono, J’maine Hopgood, Nicho Hynes, Ryan James, Joshua Kerr, Ezra Mam, Latrell Mitchell, Shaquai Mitchell, Kierran Moseley, Brent Naden, Tyrone Peachey, Tyrell Sloan, Chris Smith, Will Smith, Jamayne Taunoa-Brown, Cody Walker, Jack Wighton

Women’s NRL All Stars confirmed squads

Maori All Stars

Brooke Anderson, Destiny Brill, Gayle Broughton, Harata Butler, Kahu Cassidy, Kennedy Cherrington, Laikha Clarke, Zali Fay, Mya Hill-Moana, Olivia Kernick, Shannon Mato, Capri Paekau, Aaliyah Paki, Shanice Parker, Ashleigh Quinlan, Tiana Raftstrand-Smith, Jasmin Strange, Zahara Temara, Kailey Thompson, Amy Turner

Indigenous All Stars

Essay Banu, Shaylee Bent, Jaime Chapman, Bree Chester, Kirra Dibb, Quincy Dodd, Taliah Fuimaono, Tallisha Harden, Caitlan Johnston, Keilee Joseph, Bobbi Law, Mia Middleton, Sareka Mooka, Jasmine Peters, Kaitlyn Phillips, Shaniah Power, Jada Taylor, Tahlulah Tillett


- Advertisment -

Most Popular