Friday, March 31, 2023
HomeSportsHow many times have Real Madrid won FIFA Club World Cup? History...

How many times have Real Madrid won FIFA Club World Cup? History of Los Blancos in intercontinental competition

- Advertisement -

Real Madrid’s impressive 2021/22 campaign ended with Carlo Ancelotti winning an incredible La Liga and Champions League double on his return to Spain.

Ancelotti showed his evergreen sharpness to get the better of Xavi, Pep Guardiola, Thomas Tuchel and Jurgen Klopp to get his hands on two major honours.

Their reward has been the title of defending domestic and European champions this season and a place in the 2022 FIFA Club World Cup, which takes place this month.

Los Blancos take the tournament very seriously, and Ancelotti is expected to name a strong squad to travel Morocco in February, as they look to add world champions to their list of accolades.

MORE: How many trophies has Carlo Ancelotti won? Contract, salary, and more

How many times have Real Madrid won FIFA Club World Cup?

European sides have dominated the FIFA Club World Cup — despite its unfair image as a mid-season distraction — following Manchester United’s controversial decision to pull out of the FA Cup to play in 2000 in what was then called the FIFA Club World Championship.

From 18 finals since the inaugural competition 23 years ago, a European team has won 14 times, with Real Madrid the most successful.

Los Blancos have won all four finals they have played in, including their first title in 2014, under Ancelotti.

Real Madrid’s FIFA Club World Cup record
Year Stage Reached Opponent Result Host Nation
2000 Third Place Playoff Necaxa (MEX) 1-1* AET Brazil
2014 Winners San Lorenzo (ARG) 2-0 Morocco
2016 Winners Kashima Antlers (JAP) 4-2 AET Japan
2017 Winners Gremio (BRA) 1-0 UAE
2018 Winners Al Ain (UAE) 4-1 UAE

*Real Madrid lost 4-3 on penalties

Real Madrid have also played in five finals in the now defunct Intercontinental Cup (held between the Copa Libertadores and European Cup/Champions League winners until 2004).

After winning the first ever final against Penarol in 1960, Los Blancos lost to the Uruguayans in 1966 before winning again in 1998 and 2002, either side of a 2000 loss, to become the joint-most successful team in the competition’s history with three trophies.

How did Real Madrid qualify for the 2022 FIFA Club World Cup?

FIFA rules state club sides qualify for the FIFA Club World Cup by virtue of winning their own continental title. For UEFA clubs (those in Europe), that spot is given to the Champions League winners from the previous season.

The other qualifiers are the winners of the Copa Libertadores (CONEMBOL), AFC Champions League (AFC), CAF Champions League (CAF), CONCAF Champions League (CONCAF) and the OFC Champions League (OFC). A team from the host nation is also selected.

There can be exceptions to the rules. For example, as CAF Champions League holders Wydad Casablanca were already selected to represent tournament hosts Morocco, Al Ahly, who lost that CAF final, were allocated a place.

Who will Real Madrid play in the 2022 FIFA Club World Cup?

The Champions League and Copa Libertadores winners are granted byes directly into the semifinals with the remaining five teams left to battle it out.

The structure of the draw means Ancelotti’s side will either face Seattle Sounders or Al Ahly on February 8.


- Advertisment -

Most Popular