Saturday, January 28, 2023
HomeSportsHow many byes does each NRL team get? How the Dolphins have...

How many byes does each NRL team get? How the Dolphins have affected the 2023 NRL draw

- Advertisement -

A brand new season of the NRL will kick off in March 2023, with a number of key changes being made to the draw.

The inclusion of newcomers the Dolphins means that next season will feature an extra round, and consequently, an additional bye for every team.

Ahead of the 2023 campaign, The Sporting News looks at the new bye round system.

MORE: When will NRL stars face their former clubs next season?

How many byes does each team get in 2023?

The 2023 NRL draw sees each club receive three byes throughout the season.

The addition of the Dolphins – the first expansion team since the Gold Coast Titans in 2007 – brings the league size to 17 teams.

To accommodate the league size increase, an extra round has been added to the 2023 season, meaning the new campaign will be played over 27 rounds.

Like in seasons past, teams will be given two byes during the mid-year State of Origin period, but also spend an extra week off by themselves in a separate round.

Rounds 13-14, 16-17 and 19-20 will respectively bookend each of the three Origin matches.

Which teams have the best and worst byes?

Whilst there are pros and cons to each team’s bye round positioning, there are some clubs that will likely be pleased with their 2023 schedule.

In particular, the Parramatta Eels will potentially benefit from a Round 27 bye.

Assuming they finish in the top eight, the draw affords them a week of rest to prepare for finals footy.

At the top end of the draw, teams such as the St. George-Illawarra Dragons and Manly Sea Eagles might have preferred a late-season bye. 

Momentum can make or break a season, so an early week off could be tricky to navigate.

Every team’s bye rounds – NRL 2023 full schedule

Round 1

St. George-Illawarra Dragons

Round 2

Manly Sea Eagles

Round 3

Penrith Panthers

Round 4

Sydney Roosters

Round 5

Gold Coast Titans

Round 6

Cronulla Sharks

Round 7

Wests Tigers

Round 8

Canberra Raiders

Round 9

Melbourne Storm

Round 10

Newcastle Knights

Round 11

The Dolphins

Round 12

New Zealand Warriors

Round 13

Canterbury Bulldogs, Penrith Panthers, Sydney Roosters, Cronulla Sharks, Melbourne Storm, Gold Coast Titans, Wests Tigers

Round 14

Parramatta Eels, Newcastle Knights, Manly Sea Eagles

Round 15

North Queensland Cowboys

Round 16

Brisbane Broncos, The Dolphins, St George Illawarra Dragons, South Sydney Rabbitohs, Canberra Raiders, Gold Coast Titans, New Zealand Warriors

Round 17

Canterbury Bulldogs, Cronulla Sharks, Wests Tigers

Round 18

Parramatta Eels

Round 19

Brisbane Broncos, North Queensland Cowboys, Newcastle Knights, Penrith Panthers, Sydney Roosters, Manly Sea Eagles, Melbourne Storm

Round 20

St. George-Illawarra Dragons, South Sydney Rabbitohs, Canberra Raiders

Round 21

The Dolphins

Round 22

New Zealand Warriors

Round 23

Canterbury Bulldogs

Round 24

North Queensland Cowboys

Round 25

Brisbane Broncos

Round 26

South Sydney Rabbitohs

Round 27

Parramatta Eels


- Advertisment -

Most Popular