Friday, February 3, 2023
HomeSportsFull AFL fixture list released for the 2023 season: Round by round...

Full AFL fixture list released for the 2023 season: Round by round guide

- Advertisement -

The full AFL fixture list has landed ahead of next year’s action with a number of blockbuster matches scheduled for the opening months of the season.  

“Momentum early is key, and the fixture list has been designed in a way to spread the marquee showpiece Thursday and Friday nights timeslots across all of the key states,” AFL EGM Clubs, Broadcast and Fixturing Travis Auld said.

“We are really pleased to be able to deliver a fixture that balances great broadcast slots and great access for fans.”

MORE: AFL 2022/2023 preseason – Moore down as Collingwood fear the loss of star defender

Traditional rivals Richmond and Carlton will once again act as the curtain raiser for the season when they meet on Thursday March 16th.

The reigning premiers Geelong will then host Collingwood in a Friday night showdown, while there is sure to be plenty of spice when new St Kilda coach Ross Lyon takes charge of the side for the first time against his old club Fremantle.

The Showdown in Adelaide and Western Derby in Perth will both be hosted in round three, with South Australian fans being treated to ‘Gather Round… A festival of footy’ in round five which TV sees all 18 clubs descending on the state.

The 2023 fixture list sees the bye rounds spread across the month of June from round 12 to 15, ensuring each team will have just one bye during the extended season.

MORE: ‘Gather Round… A festival of footy’ – AFL reveals name and fixtures for inaugural extra round

“Thursday night blockbusters remain a priority for us, both from a broadcast and crowd-build perspective,” Auld said as Carlton feature seven times across the first 15 rounds in the marquee slots.

“We feel we have the right balance, having five in the first five rounds, a break then Thursdays come back into play across Rounds 13 through 15.
 
“The Sunday afternoon 3:20pm timeslot worked really well last season – big match ups, big crowds and some of the best games of the season – we are hoping that continues in 2023.

“We committed this year to gives fans and the public as much certainty as possible for the fixture and delivering the first 15 rounds straight up hopefully provides that.
 
“We will confirm the dates and times for the Rounds 16 – 23 around four to six weeks out, and Round 24, the final round of the home and away season, will remain floating.”

(First time shown is EDT, followed by the local time)

ROUND 1

Thursday, Mar 16

Richmond vs. Carlton MCG 7:20pm 7:20pm

Friday, Mar 17

Geelong Cats vs. Collingwood MCG – 7:40pm 7:40pm

Saturday, Mar 18

North Melbourne vs. West Coast Eagles Marvel Stadium 1:45pm 1:45pm

Port Adelaide vs. Brisbane Lions Adelaide Oval 4:35pm 4:05pm

Melbourne vs. Western Bulldogs MCG 7:25pm 7:25pm

Gold Coast SUNS vs. Sydney Swans Metricon Stadium 8:00pm 7:00pm

Sunday, Mar 19

GWS GIANTS vs. Adelaide Crows GIANTS Stadium 1:10pm 1:10pm

Hawthorn vs. Essendon MCG 3:20pm 3:20pm

St Kilda vs. Fremantle Marvel Stadium 4:40pm 4:40pm

ROUND 2

Thursday, Mar 23

Carlton vs. Geelong Cats MCG 7:20pm 7:20pm

Friday, Mar 24

Brisbane Lions vs. Melbourne The Gabba 7:50pm 6:50pm

Saturday, Mar 25

Collingwood vs. Port Adelaide MCG 1:45pm 1:45pm

Adelaide Crows vs. Richmond Adelaide Oval 4:35pm 4:05pm

Western Bulldogs vs. St Kilda Marvel Stadium 7:25pm 7:25pm

Fremantle vs. North Melbourne Optus Stadium 7:30pm 4:30pm

Sunday, March 26

Sydney Swans vs. Hawthorn SCG 1:10pm 1:10pm

Essendon vs. Gold Coast SUNS Marvel Stadium 3:20pm 3:20pm

West Coast Eagles vs. GWS GIANTS Optus Stadium 6:20pm 3:20pm

ROUND 3

Thursday, Mar 30

Western Bulldogs vs. Brisbane Lions Marvel Stadium 7:20pm 7:20pm

Friday, Mar 31

Collingwood vs. Richmond MCG 7:50pm 7:50pm

Saturday, Apr 1

Hawthorn vs. North Melbourne University of Tasmania Stadium 1:45pm 1:45pm

GWS GIANTS vs. Carlton GIANTS Stadium 4:35pm 4:35pm

St Kilda vs. Essendon MCG 7:25pm 7:25pm

Port Adelaide vs. Adelaide Crows Adelaide Oval 7:30pm 7:00pm

Sunday, Apr 2

Gold Coast SUNS vs. Geelong Cats Metricon Stadium 2:10pm 2:10pm

Melbourne vs. Sydney Swans MCG 3:20pm 3:20pm

Fremantle vs. West Coast Eagles Optus Stadium 5:20pm 3:20pm

ROUND 4

Thursday, Apr 6

Brisbane Lions vs. Collingwood The Gabba 7:35pm 7:35pm

Friday, Apr 7

North Melbourne vs. Carlton Marvel Stadium 4:20pm 4:20pm

Saturday, Apr 8

Adelaide Crows vs. Fremantle Adelaide Oval 1:45pm 1:15pm

Richmond vs. Western Bulldogs MCG 4:35pm 4:35pm

St Kilda vs. Gold Coast SUNS Marvel Stadium 7:30pm 7:30pm

Sydney Swans vs. Port Adelaide SCG 7:30pm 7:30pm

Sunday, Apr 9

Essendon vs. GWS GIANTS Marvel Stadium 2:10pm 2:10pm

West Coast Eagles vs. Melbourne Optus Stadium 5:20pm 3:20pm

Monday, Apr 10

Geelong Cats vs. Hawthorn MCG 3:20pm 3:20pm

ROUND 5

Thursday, Apr 13

Adelaide Crows vs. Carlton Adelaide Oval 7:40pm 7:10pm

Friday, Apr 14

Fremantle vs. Gold Coast SUNS Norwood Oval 5:10pm 4:40pm

Sydney Swans vs. Richmond Adelaide Oval 8:10pm 7:40pm

Saturday, Apr 15

North Melbourne vs. Brisbane Lions Adelaide Hills 1:10pm 12:40pm

Essendon vs. Melbourne Adelaide Oval 4:10pm 3:40pm

Port Adelaide vs. Western Bulldogs Adelaide Oval 7:50pm 7:20pm

Sunday, Apr 16

Geelong Cats vs. West Coast Eagles Adelaide Oval 1:10pm 12:40pm

Hawthorn vs. GWS GIANTS Norwood Oval 3:20pm 2:50pm

St Kilda vs. Collingwood Adelaide Oval 4:50pm 4:20pm

ROUND 6

Friday, Apr 21

Fremantle vs. Western Bulldogs Optus Stadium 8:10pm 6:10pm

Saturday, Apr 22

Port Adelaide vs. West Coast Eagles Adelaide Oval 1:45pm 1:15pm

GWS GIANTS vs. Brisbane Lions Manuka Oval 4:35pm 4:35pm

Geelong Cats vs. Sydney Swans GMHBA Stadium 7:25pm 7:25pm

Sunday, Apr 23

Hawthorn vs. Adelaide Crows University of Tasmania Stadium 1:10pm 1:10pm

Carlton vs. St Kilda Marvel Stadium 3:20pm 3:20pm

Gold Coast SUNS vs. North Melbourne Metricon Stadium 4:40pm 4:40pm

Monday, Apr 24

Melbourne vs. Richmond MCG 7:20pm 7:20pm

Tuesday, Apr 25

Collingwood vs. Essendon MCG 3:20pm 3:20pm

ROUND 7

Friday, Apr 28

St Kilda vs. Port Adelaide Marvel Stadium 7:50pm 7:50pm

Saturday, Apr 29

Brisbane Lions vs. Fremantle The Gabba 1:45pm 1:45pm

Sydney Swans vs. GWS GIANTS SCG 2:10pm 2:10pm

Western Bulldogs vs. Hawthorn Marvel Stadium 4:35pm 4:35pm

Melbourne vs. North Melbourne MCG 7:25pm 7:25pm

West Coast Eagles vs. Carlton Optus Stadium 7:30pm 5:30pm

Sunday, Apr 30

Essendon vs. Geelong Cats MCG 1:10pm 1:10pm

Richmond vs. Gold Coast SUNS Marvel Stadium 3:20pm 3:20pm

Adelaide Crows vs. Collingwood Adelaide Oval 4:40pm 4:10pm

ROUND 8

Friday, May 5

Carlton vs. Brisbane Lions Marvel Stadium 7:50pm 7:50pm

Saturday, May 6

Richmond vs. West Coast Eagles MCG 1:45pm 1:45pm

Geelong Cats vs. Adelaide Crows GMHBA Stadium 2:10pm 2:10pm

Gold Coast SUNS vs. Melbourne Metricon Stadium 4:35pm 4:35pm

GWS GIANTS vs. Western Bulldogs Manuka Oval 7:25pm 7:25pm

Fremantle vs. Hawthorn Optus Stadium 7:30pm 5:30pm

Sunday, May 7

Port Adelaide vs. Essendon Adelaide Oval 1:10pm 12:40pm

Collingwood vs. Sydney Swans MCG 3:20pm 3:20pm

North Melbourne vs. St Kilda Marvel Stadium 4:40pm 4:40pm

ROUND 9

Friday, May 12

Richmond vs. Geelong Cats MCG 7:20pm 7:20pm

West Coast Eagles vs. Gold Coast SUNS Optus Stadium 8:40pm 6:40pm

Saturday, May 13

Sydney Swans vs. Fremantle SCG 1:45pm 1:45pm

North Melbourne vs. Port Adelaide Blundstone Arena 2:10pm 2:10pm

Hawthorn vs. Melbourne MCG 4:35pm 4:35pm

Brisbane Lions vs. Essendon The Gabba 7:25pm 7:25pm

Carlton vs. Western Bulldogs Marvel Stadium 7:30pm 7:30pm

Sunday, May 14

Adelaide Crows vs. St Kilda Adelaide Oval 1:10pm 12:40pm

Collingwood vs. GWS GIANTS MCG 4:40pm 4:40pm

ROUND 10

Port Adelaide vs. Melbourne Adelaide Oval 7:50pm 7:20pm

Saturday, May 20

North Melbourne vs. Sydney Swans Marvel Stadium 1:45pm 1:45pm

Western Bulldogs vs. Adelaide Crows Mars Stadium 2:10pm 2:10pm

Fremantle vs. Geelong Cats Optus Stadium 4:35pm 2:35pm

Brisbane Lions vs. Gold Coast SUNS The Gabba 7:30pm 7:30pm

Essendon vs. Richmond MCG 7:40pm 7:40pm

Sunday, May 21

Hawthorn vs. West Coast Eagles University of Tasmania Stadium 1:10pm 1:10pm

Carlton vs. Collingwood MCG 3:20pm 3:20pm

GWS GIANTS vs. St Kilda GIANTS Stadium 4:40pm 4:40pm

ROUND 11

Friday, May 26

Sydney Swans vs. Carlton SCG 7:50pm 7:50pm

Saturday, May 27

St Kilda vs. Hawthorn Marvel Stadium 1:45pm 1:45pm

Melbourne vs. Fremantle MCG 2:10pm 2:10pm

Geelong Cats vs. GWS GIANTS GMHBA Stadium 4:35pm 4:35pm

Gold Coast SUNS vs. Western Bulldogs TIO Stadium 7:25pm 6:55pm

West Coast Eagles vs. Essendon Optus Stadium 7:30pm 5:30pm

Sunday, May 28

Richmond vs. Port Adelaide MCG 1:10pm 1:10pm

Collingwood vs. North Melbourne Marvel Stadium 3:20pm 3:20pm

Adelaide Crows vs. Brisbane Lions Adelaide Oval 4:40pm 4:10pm

ROUND 12

Friday, Jun 2

Melbourne vs. Carlton MCG 7:50pm7:50pm

Saturday, Jun 3

Port Adelaide vs. Hawthorn Adelaide Oval 1:45pm 1:15pm

West Coast Eagles vs. Collingwood Optus Stadium 4:35pm 2:35pm

Western Bulldogs vs. Geelong Cats Marvel Stadium 7:25pm 7:25pm

Gold Coast SUNS vs. Adelaide Crows TIO Stadium 7:30pm 7:00pm

Sunday, Jun 4

GWS GIANTS vs. RichmondGIANTS Stadium 1:10pm 1:10pm

Essendon vs. North MelbourneMarvel Stadium 4:40pm 4:40pm

Byes: Brisbane Lions, Fremantle, St Kilda, Sydney Swans

ROUND 13

Thursday, June 8

Sydney Swans vs St Kilda at the SCG, 7:20pm

Friday, June 9

Western Bulldogs vs Port Adelaide at Marvel Stadium, 7:50pm

Saturday, June 10

Hawthorn vs Brisbane Lions at the MCG, 1:45pm

Adelaide Crows vs West Coast Eagles at Adelaide Oval, 4:35pm

Fremantle vs Richmond at Optus Stadium 7:25pm

Sunday, June 11

North Melbourne vs GWS GIANTS at Blundstone Arena 3:20pm

Carlton vs Essendon at the MCG, 7:15pm

Monday, June 12

Melbourne vs Collingwood at the MCG 3:20pm

Byes: Geelong Cats, Gold Coast SUNS

ROUND 14

Thursday, June 15

Port Adelaide vs Geelong Cats at Adelaide Oval, 7:20pm

Friday, June 16

Brisbane Lions vs Sydney Swans at the Gabba, 7:50pm

Saturday, June 17

GWS GIANTS vs. Fremantle GIANTS Stadium, 4:35pm

Richmond vs. St Kilda at the MCG, 7:25pm

Sunday, June 18

Carlton vs Gold Coast SUNS at the MCG, 1:10pm

North Melbourne vs Western Bulldogs at Marvel Stadium, 4:40pm

Byes: Adelaide Crows, Collingwood, Essendon, Hawthorn, Melbourne, West Coast Eagles

ROUND 15

Thursday, June 22

Geelong Cats vs Melbourne at GMHBA Stadium, 7:20pm

Friday, June 23

St Kilda vs Brisbane Lions at Marvel Stadium, 7:50pm

Saturday, June 24

Sydney Swans vs West Coast Eagles at the SCG, 4:35pm

Fremantle vs Essendon at Optus Stadium, 7:25pm

Sunday, June 25

Collingwood vs Adelaide Crows at the MCG, 1:10pm

Gold Coast SUNS vs Hawthorn at Metricon, 4:40pm

Byes: Carlton, GWS GIANTS, North Melbourne, Port Adelaide, Richmond, Western Bulldogs

ROUND 16

Thursday, Jun 29 – Sunday, Jul 2

Adelaide Crows vs. North Melbourne, Adelaide Oval

Brisbane Lions vs. Richmond, The Gabba

Essendon vs. Port Adelaide, MCG

Gold Coast SUNS vs. Collingwood, Metricon Stadium

Hawthorn vs. Carlton, MCG

Melbourne vs. GWS GIANTS, TIO Traeger Park

Sydney Swans vs. Geelong Cats, SCG

West Coast Eagles vs. St Kilda, Optus Stadium

Western Bulldogs vs. Fremantle, Marvel Stadium

ROUND 17

Thursday, Jul 6 – Sunday, Jul 9

Brisbane Lions vs. West Coast Eagles, The Gabba

Essendon vs. Adelaide Crows, Marvel Stadium

Fremantle vs. Carlton, Optus Stadium

Geelong Cats vs. North Melbourne, GMHBA Stadium

GWS GIANTS vs. Hawthorn, GIANTS Stadium

Port Adelaide vs. Gold Coast SUNS, Adelaide Oval

Richmond vs. Sydney Swans, MCG

St Kilda vs. Melbourne, Marvel Stadium

Western Bulldogs vs. Collingwood, Marvel Stadium

ROUND 18

Thursday, Jul 13 – Sunday, Jul 16

Adelaide Crows vs. GWS GIANTS, Adelaide Oval

Carlton vs. Port Adelaide, Marvel Stadium

Collingwood vs. Fremantle, MCG

Geelong Cats vs. Essendon, GMHBA Stadium

Gold Coast SUNS vs. St Kilda, Metricon Stadium

Melbourne vs. Brisbane Lions, MCG

North Melbourne vs. Hawthorn, Marvel Stadium

Sydney Swans vs. Western Bulldogs, SCG

West Coast Eagles vs. Richmond, Optus Stadium

ROUND 19

Friday, Jul 21 – Sunday, Jul 23

Brisbane Lions vs. Geelong Cats, The Gabba

Carlton vs. West Coast Eagles, Marvel Stadium

Essendon vs. Western Bulldogs, Marvel Stadium

Fremantle vs. Sydney Swans, Optus Stadium

GWS GIANTS vs. Gold Coast SUNS, Manuka Oval

Melbourne vs. Adelaide Crows, MCG

Port Adelaide vs. Collingwood, Adelaide Oval

Richmond vs. Hawthorn, MCG

St Kilda vs. North Melbourne, Marvel Stadium

ROUND 20

Friday, Jul 28 – Sunday, Jul 30

Adelaide Crows vs. Port Adelaide, Adelaide Oval

Collingwood vs. Carlton, MCG

Essendon vs. Sydney Swans, Marvel Stadium

Geelong Cats vs. Fremantle, GMHBA Stadium

Gold Coast SUNS vs. Brisbane Lions, Metricon Stadium

Hawthorn vs. St Kilda, Marvel Stadium

Richmond vs. Melbourne, MCG

West Coast Eagles vs. North Melbourne, Optus Stadium

Western Bulldogs vs. GWS GIANTS, Mars Stadium

ROUND 21

Friday, Aug 4 – Sunday, Aug 6

Adelaide Crows vs. Gold Coast SUNS, Adelaide Oval

Essendon vs. West Coast Eagles, Marvel Stadium

Fremantle vs. Brisbane Lions, Optus Stadium

Geelong Cats vs. Port Adelaide, GMHBA Stadium

GWS GIANTS vs. Sydney Swans, GIANTS Stadium

Hawthorn vs. Collingwood, MCG

North Melbourne vs. Melbourne, Blundstone Arena

St Kilda vs. Carlton, Marvel Stadium

Western Bulldogs vs. Richmond, Marvel Stadium

ROUND 22

Friday, Aug 11 – Sunday, Aug 13

Carlton vs. Melbourne, MCG

Brisbane Lions vs. Adelaide Crows, The Gabba

Collingwood vs. Geelong Cats, MCG

Hawthorn vs. Western Bulldogs, UTAS Stadium

North Melbourne vs. Essendon, Marvel Stadium

Port Adelaide vs. GWS GIANTS, Adelaide Oval

St Kilda vs. Richmond, Marvel Stadium

Sydney Swans vs. Gold Coast SUNS, SCG

West Coast Eagles vs. Fremantle, Optus Stadium

ROUND 23

Friday, Aug 18 – Sunday, Aug 20

Adelaide Crows vs. Sydney Swans, Adelaide Oval

Collingwood vs. Brisbane Lions, Marvel Stadium

Fremantle vs. Port Adelaide, Optus Stadium

Gold Coast SUNS vs. Carlton, Metricon Stadium

GWS GIANTS vs. Essendon, GIANTS Stadium

Melbourne vs. Hawthorn, MCG

Richmond vs. North Melbourne, MCG

St Kilda vs. Geelong Cats, Marvel Stadium

Western Bulldogs vs. West Coast Eagles, Marvel Stadium

ROUND 24

Friday, Aug 25 – Sunday, Aug 27

Brisbane Lions vs. St Kilda, The Gabba

Carlton vs. GWS GIANTS, Marvel Stadium

Essendon vs. Collingwood, MCG

Geelong Cats vs. Western Bulldogs, GMHBA Stadium

Hawthorn vs. Fremantle, MCG

North Melbourne vs. Gold Coast SUNS, Blundstone Arena

Port Adelaide vs. Richmond, Adelaide Oval

Sydney Swans vs. Melbourne, SCG

West Coast Eagles vs. Adelaide Crows, Optus Stadium


Credit: sportingnews.com

RELATED ARTICLES
- Advertisment -

Most Popular