Saturday, January 28, 2023
HomeSportsFrance vs Poland live: World Cup score, highlights, result from 2022 Round...

France vs Poland live: World Cup score, highlights, result from 2022 Round of 16 match

- Advertisement -

Reigning champions France begin their knockout-phase challenge at the 2022 FIFA World Cup against Poland at Al Thumama Stadium.

Les Bleus topped their group despite a much-changed side losing their final game against Tunisia, with earlier victories over Australia and Denmark enough to send them through.

Poland’s progress was a little more complicated: Robert Lewandowski helped them beat Saudi Arabia after a draw with Mexico, but a poor performance against Argentina saw them lose 2-0 on matchday three, and they only reached the last 16 on goal difference, as Mexico’s 2-1 win over Saudi Arabia was not enough to snatch second place in Group C. 

The Sporting News is tracking live scoring updates and highlights for France vs Poland at the 2022 World Cup. Follow for complete results from the Round of 16 match in Qatar.

MORE: France vs Poland betting odds, prediction and best bets

France vs Poland score

  1H 2H Final
France
Poland

Goals:
None

Projected lineups:

France projected lineup (4-3-3, right to left): 1. Lloris (GK) — 2. Pavard, 4. Varane, 18. Upamecano, 22. T. Hernandez — 7. Griezmann, 8. Tchouameni, 14. Rabiot — 11. Dembele, 9. Giroud, 10. Mbappe   

Poland projected lineup (4-4-2, right to left): 1. Szczesny (GK) — 2. Cash, 15. Glik, 14. Kiwior, 18. Bereszynski — 20. Zielinski, 6. Bielik, 10. Krychowiak, 24. Frankowski — 16. Swiderski, 9. Lewandowski

MORE: Watch every World Cup match live with fuboTV (U.S.-only free trial)

France vs Poland live updates, highlights from 2022 World Cup

3 hrs 45 mins from kickoff: Raphael Varane wants France to be ruthless in front of goal against Poland and seal a quarter final spot

4 hrs 15 mins from kickoff: A first Round of 16 appearance in 36 years for Poland — but can they spring a surprise in Al Thumama?

4 hrs 45 mins from kickoff: Didier Deschamps has been here before, of course. A Word Cup winner as a player in 1998 and as a coach 20 years later, he knows better than most how to navigate the knockout rounds.

5 hrs from kickoff: Welcome to The Sporting News’ live coverage of this Round of 16 clash between France and Poland. There might have been a blip against Tunisia, but the French have looked good in Qatar. In fact, at times, they’ve looked very good. Can Poland summon an improved performance today and knock the champions out in the Round of 16? We’ll find out soon enough!

France vs Poland lineups, team news

France were ravaged by injuries in the build-up to the tournament, so it was no surprise to see head coach Didier Deschamps make nine changes to his starting lineup against Tunisia in a bid to avoid any further casualties.

Expect Deschamps to deploy a full-strength side again for the knockout campaign, with the likes of captain Hugo Lloris and strikers Kylian Mbappe and Antoine Griezmann restored.

Theo Hernandez is likely to play at left-back, as he did against Denmark after his brother, Lucas, ruptured the ACL in his right knee versus Australia.

France projected lineup (4-3-3, right to left): 1. Lloris (GK) — 2. Pavard, 4. Varane, 18. Upamecano, 22. T. Hernandez — 7. Griezmann, 8. Tchouameni, 14. Rabiot — 11. Dembele, 9. Giroud, 10. Mbappe 

Poland head coach Czeslaw Michniewicz could field a more conservative lineup after seeing his counter-attacking side comfortably beaten by Argentina.

Feyenoord’s Sebastian Szymasnki and Wolfsburg’s Jakub Kaminski, who might have been reinforcement options at the back, both started that game on the bench.

Poland projected lineup (4-4-2, right to left): 1. Szczesny (GK) — 2. Cash, 15. Glik, 14. Kiwior, 18. Bereszynski — 20. Zielinski, 6. Bielik, 10. Krychowiak, 24. Frankowski — 16. Swiderski, 9. Lewandowski

France vs Poland live stream, TV channel

This Round of 16 match will be played at the Al Thumama Stadium, which has a capacity of 44,400. The referee is Jesus Valenzuela of Venezuela.

Here’s how you can watch all the action in some of the major global territories.

  Date Time TV Channel Streaming
USA Sun, Dec. 4 10:00 ET FS1,
Telemundo
fuboTV,
Fox Sports site/app,
Telemundo Deportes site/app,
Peacock
Canada Sun, Dec. 4 10:00 ET TSN 3/4, CTV, RDS (French) TSN site/app, CTV app,
RDS app
UK Sun, Dec. 4 15:00 GMT ITV, STV ITVX, STV Player
Australia Mon, Dec. 5 02:00 AEDT SBS SBS On Demand
India Sun, Dec. 4 20:30 IST Sports18 Voot, JioTV
Hong Kong Sun, Dec. 4 23:00 HKT Now TV (Ch. 616, 618) Now TV
Malaysia Sun, Dec. 4 23:00 MYT Astro FIFA World Cup 1 Astro GO
Singapore Sun, Dec. 4 23:00 SGT StarHub FIFA World Cup,
Singtel FIFA World Cup 141
Singtel TV GO, CAST,
StarHub TV+, MeWatch
New Zealand Mon, Dec. 5 04:00 NZDT Sky Sport 7 beIN Sports Sky Go, Sky Sport NOW

Watch the match on fuboTV in USA:


Credit: sportingnews.com

RELATED ARTICLES
- Advertisment -

Most Popular