Tuesday, January 31, 2023
HomeSportsArgentina vs Poland live: World Cup score, highlights, result from 2022 Group...

Argentina vs Poland live: World Cup score, highlights, result from 2022 Group C match

- Advertisement -

Lionel Messi and Argentina are in a must-win situation when they face Poland in their final match in Group C. Messi is on a quest to win his first World Cup in his final appearance in the tournament, and a group-stage ouster for one of the favourites would prove a massive upset.

Only a victory will guarantee the Albiceleste advance to the next round. A draw could work depending on the other result in the group (Mexico vs. Saudi Arabia), while a loss would see Argentina suffer a shock group stage elimination.

Poland are one point ahead of Argentina going into the final day and they have two results that will get them into the knockouts: a win or draw. They can even qualify with a loss if the tiebreakers go their way.

The match will see two stars go head-to-head in what could be the last World Cup appearance for one of them: The 35-year-old Messi matches up against 34-year-old Robert Lewandowski, who scored his first career World Cup goal against Saudi Arabia. 

Sporting News is tracking live scoring updates and highlights for Argentina vs Poland at the 2022 World Cup. Follow below for complete results from the Group C match in Qatar.

MORE: World Cup scenarios for Group C | How to bet Argentina vs Poland

Argentina vs Poland live score

  1H 2H Final
Argentina
Poland

Goals:
None

Projected lineups:

Argentina (4-3-3, right to left): 23. E. Martinez (GK) — 26-Molina, 13. Romero, 19. Otamendi, 8. Acuna — 7. De Paul, 5. Paredes, 20. Mac Allister — 10. Messi, 22. L. Martinez, 11. Di Maria

Poland (4-5-1, right to left): 1. Szczesny (GK) — 2. Cash, 14. Kiwior, 15. Glik, 8. Bereszynski — 19. Szymanski, 6. Bielik, 20. Zielinski, 10. Krychowiak, 13-Kaminski — 9. Lewandowski

MORE: Watch every World Cup match live with fuboTV (U.S.-only free trial)

Team PTS GP W L D GF GA GD
1. Poland 4 2 1 0 1 2 0 +2
2. Argentina 3 2 1 1 0 3 2 +1
3. Saudi Arabia 3 2 1 1 0 2 3 -1
4. Mexico 1 2 0 1 1 0 2 -2

Argentina vs Poland live updates, highlights from 2022 World Cup

4 hrs 45 mins from kickoff: Since the 2018 World Cup Round of 16 loss to France, Argentina have faced only three European sides. Germany (2-2 draw), Italy (3-0 win in Finalissima) and Estonia (5-0 in friendly).

5 hrs from kickoff: If Argentina are going to pull off qualification to the Round of 16, they’re going to be doing it dressed in purple:

You’ve got to believe there’s someone on the team that’s aware of this:

Argentina vs Poland lineups, team news

According to reports in Argentina, manager Lionel Scaloni is entertaining three lineup changes. One is at the revolving door that is the right-back position (Nahuel Molina), another at the midfield base (Leandro Paredes), and then at center-back (Cristian Romero).

Enzo Fernandez starred off the bench in the last match against Mexico, and the expectation is that Scaloni will use him in the same way, especially in case the Albiceleste run into trouble.

Argentina (4-3-3, right to left): 23. E. Martinez (GK) — 26-Molina, 13. Romero, 19. Otamendi, 8. Acuna — 7. De Paul, 5. Paredes, 20. Mac Allister — 10. Messi, 22. L. Martinez, 11. Di Maria

In the Polish press the thinking is that Poland might go to a more conservative lineup against Argentina’s attacking firepower after lining up with two forwards in the 3-5-2 against Saudi Arabia. Feyenoord’s Sebastian Szymasnki and Wolfsburg’s Jakub Kaminski are expected to enter the picture.

Poland (4-5-1, right to left): 1. Szczesny (GK) — 2. Cash, 14. Kiwior, 15. Glik, 8. Bereszynski — 19. Szymanski, 6. Bielik, 20. Zielinski, 10. Krychowiak, 13-Kaminski — 9. Lewandowski

Argentina vs Poland live stream, TV channel

This final Group C match will be played at Stadium 974. Here’s how you can watch all the action in some of the major global territories.

  Date Time TV Channel Streaming
USA Wed, Nov. 30 14:00 ET Fox
Universo
fuboTV,
Fox Sports site/app,
Universo Now,
Peacock
Canada Wed, Nov. 30 14:00 ET TSN , RDS 1 (French) TSN site/app,
RDS app
UK Wed, Nov. 30 19:00 GMT BBC One BBC iPlayer, BBC Sport website
Australia Thu, Dec. 1 06:00 AEDT SBS SBS On Demand
India Thu, Dec. 1 00:30 IST Sports18 Voot, JioTV
Hong Kong Thu, Dec. 1 03:00 HKT Now TV (Ch. 616, 618) Now TV
Malaysia Thu, Dec. 1 03:00 MYT Astro Arena 2 Astro GO
Singapore Thu, Dec. 1 03:00 SGT StarHub FIFA World Cup,
Singtel FIFA World Cup 141
Singtel TV GO, CAST,
StarHub TV+, MeWatch
New Zealand Thu, Dec. 1 08:00 NZDT Sky Sport 7 beIN Sports Sky Go, Sky Sport NOW

Watch the match on fuboTV in USA:


Credit: sportingnews.com

RELATED ARTICLES
- Advertisment -

Most Popular