Sunday, February 5, 2023
HomeSportsArgentina vs Mexico live: World Cup score, highlights, result from 2022 Group...

Argentina vs Mexico live: World Cup score, highlights, result from 2022 Group C match

- Advertisement -

Lionel Messi and Argentina have their backs to the wall when they take on Mexico at the Lusail Stadium, knowing that a loss could see them suffer a humiliating group stage elimination.

The Albiceleste, of course, are in this position after losing to Saudi Arabia in what many have called the greatest upset in World Cup history. 

Mexico would love nothing more than to knock Argentina out of the tournament after what the Albiceleste have done to them in past editions. El Tri were knocked out by Argentina at the last 16 in consecutive tournaments in 2006 and 2010, despite running them close.

Mexico are coached by former Argentina manager Gerardo ‘Tata’ Martino and Argentine-born Rogelio Funes Mori, who has long played in Mexico and is a Mexican citizen through naturalization, is also a member of El Tri’s squad.

Sporting News is tracking live scoring updates and highlights for Argentina vs. Mexico at the 2022 World Cup. Follow below for complete results from the Group C match in Qatar.

MORE: Best bets for Argentina vs. Mexico

Argentina vs Mexico live score

  1H 2H Final
Argentina
Mexico

Goals:
None

Projected lineups:

Argentina (4-3-3, right to left): 23-E. Martinez (GK) — 4-Montiel, 25-L. Martinez, 19-Otamendi, 8-Acuna — 7-De Paul, 18-G. Rodriguez, 20-Mac Allister — 11-Di Maria, 22-L. Martinez, 10-Messi

Mexico (5-3-2, right to left): 13-Ochoa (GK) — 26-Alvarez, 2-Araujo, 3-Montes, 15-Moreno, 23-Gallardo — 16-Herrera, 18-Guardado, 24-Chavez— 22-Lozano, 10-Vega

MORE: Watch every World Cup match live with fuboTV (US only free trial)

Team PTS GP W L D GF GA GD
1. Saudi Arabia 3 1 1 0 0 2 1 +1
2. Mexico 1 1 0 0 1 0 0 0
3. Poland 1 1 0 0 1 0 0 0
4. Argentina 0 1 0 1 0 1 2 -1

Argentina vs Mexico live updates, highlights from 2022 World Cup

4 hrs 45 mins from kickoff: Argentina supporters are already in full voice well ahead of kickoff:

5 hrs from kickoff: Could Mexico spring the surprise against Argentina? Tata Martino is looking to Canada for inspiration.

Argentina vs Mexico lineups, team news

Manager Lionel Scaloni is reportedly entertaining several changes to the team that lost to Saudi Arabia.

Gonzalo Montiel (right-back), Marcos Acuna (left-back), Lisandro Martinez (center-back), and Alexis Mac Allister (central midfield) are some of the names that have surfaced with Cristian Romero and Alejandro ‘Papu’ Gomez still not at 100 percent fitness.

Argentina (4-3-3, right to left): 23-Emiliano ‘Dibu’ Martinez (GK) — 4-Gonzalo Montiel, 25-Lisandro Martinez, 19-Nicolas Otamendi, 8-Marcos Acuna — 7-Rodrigo De Paul, 18-Guido Rodriguez, 20-Alexis Mac Allister — 11-Angel Di Maria, 22-Lautaro Martinez, 10-Lionel Messi

Several reports from Mexican outlets say that Tata Martino will be moving to a 5-3-2 formation with Nestor Araujo added as the third center-back.

And with all the debate around the center forward position, El Tri might not use a recognised central striker with the team’s two best attackers leading the line instead.

Mexico (5-3-2, right to left): 13-Guillermo ‘Memo’ Ochoa (GK) — 26-Kevin Alvarez, 2-Nestor Araujo, 3-Cesar Montes, 15-Hector Moreno, 23-Jesus Gallardo — 16-Hector Herrera, 18-Andres Guardado, 24-Luis Chavez— 22-Hirving ‘Chucky’ Lozano, 10-Alexis Vega

Argentina vs Mexico live stream, TV channel

The stakes could not be higher for this match at Lusail Stadium, with Messi and his Argentina teammates staring at the unthinkable prospect of an early exit from Qatar.

Mexico would love nothing more than to send the South Americans packing after the pain the Albiceleste have inflicted in past tournaments.

Here’s how to watch the action in some of the major global territories:

  Date Time TV Channel Streaming
USA Saturday, Nov. 26 14:00 ET FS1, Telemundo fuboTV,
Fox Sports site/app,
Telemundo Deportes site/app,
Peacock
Canada Saturday, Nov. 26 14:00 EST TSN, CTV, RDS (French) TSN site/app, CTV site/app,
RDS app
UK Saturday, Nov. 26 19:00 GMT ITV, STV ITVX, STV Player
Australia Sunday, Nov. 27 06:00 AEDT SBS SBS On Demand
India Sunday, Nov. 27 00:30 IST Sports18 Voot, JioTV
Hong Kong Sunday, Nov. 27 03:00 HKT Now TV (Ch. 616, 618) Now TV
Malaysia Sunday, Nov. 27 03:00 HKT Astro Astro GO
Singapore Sunday, Nov. 27 03:00 HKT StarHub (Ch. 251/252), Singtel TV MeWatch, Singtel TV GO,
CAST, StarHub TV+
New Zealand Sunday, Nov. 27 08:00 NZDT Sky Sport 7 beIN Sports Sky Go, Sky Sport NOW

Watch the match on fuboTV in USA:


Credit: sportingnews.com

RELATED ARTICLES
- Advertisment -

Most Popular