Saturday, March 25, 2023
HomeSportsAFL 2023: Who are the AFL captains for the upcoming season?

AFL 2023: Who are the AFL captains for the upcoming season?

- Advertisement -

The AFL is in the midst of change as captains of clubs have stood down or retired to allow the next generation to come through as leaders.

Hawthorn’s Ben McEvoy and Geelong’s Joel Selwood retired from their respective clubs at the end of 2022, opening the door to the next generation.

In December last year, Collingwood’s Scott Pendlebury opted to stand down after nine years and 206 games. His successor was Darcy Moore.

Earlier this year, North Melbourne’s Jack Ziebell decided to pass the baton on to the next group of youngster coming through, as Jy Simpkin and Luke McDonald took over.

In February alone, Adelaide’s Rory Sloane, Brisbane’s Dayne Zorko, Essendon’s Dyson Heppell and Fremantle’s Nat Fyfe almost simultaneously chose to step aside as captain of their clubs.

However, only the Crows have re-appointed the vacant role, with Jordan Dawson inheriting the position for 2023.

GWS also handed Toby Greene sole captaincy, placing Stephen Coniglio and Josh Kelly as his vice-captains.

MORE: AFL 2023 – Your club’s Free Agents and off-contract players

Port Adelaide continue with Tom Jonas as the Western Bulldogs and Marcus Bontempelli agree to an unchanged leadership group for 2023.

Melbourne announced that Max Gawn will lead again with the help of Jack Viney as second in charge.

Richmond continued the co-captaincy of Toby Nankervis and Dylan Grimes for another year after the club was impressed with their work in 2022.

Luke Shuey will go around as captain for the third year after West Coast confirmed his role for 2023.

Carlton (Patrick Cripps), Gold Coast (Touk Miller/Jarrod Witts) St Kilda (Jack Steele) and Sydney (Callum Mills/Dane Rampe/Luke Parker) have yet to confirm who will be leading the club in the upcoming season but expect all to retain their positions from last year.

AFL captains 2023

Club Name Year appointed
Adelaide Jordan Dawson 2023
Brisbane TBC TBC
Carlton TBC (previously Patrick Cripps) TBC
Collingwood Darcy Moore 2023
Essendon TBC TBC
Fremantle TBC TBC
Geelong TBC TBC
Gold Coast TBC (previously Touk Miller/Jarrod Witts) TBC
GWS Toby Greene 2023
Hawthorn James Sicily 2023
Melbourne Max Gawn 2020
North Melbourne Jy Simpkin/Luke McDonald 2023
Port Adelaide Tom Jonas 2019
Richmond Dylan Grimes/Toby Nankervis 2022
St Kilda TBC (previously Jack Steele) TBC
Sydney TBC (previously Luke Parker/Dane Rampe/Callum Mills) TBC
West Coast Luke Shuey 2020
Western Bulldogs Marcus Bontempelli 2020

MORE: AFL pre-season fixtures 2023: Dates, times, venues and format for all practice matches 


- Advertisment -

Most Popular