Wednesday, February 8, 2023
HomeAFLSquad, Emma Kearney stats, records, full voting, Hannah Ewings Port Adelaide

Squad, Emma Kearney stats, records, full voting, Hannah Ewings Port Adelaide

- Advertisement -

She’s done it again.

North Melbourne star Emma Kearney’s remarkable AFLW All-Australian streak has again been rewarded, with the defender named in the All-Australian time for a record seventh time.

It comes as Port Adelaide’s Hannah Ewings took out the Rising Star award for season seven, with teammate Abbey Dowrick second in a league-first. Melbourne did it in 2004 in the men’s competition.

Furphy has made the commitment to provide equal support to its AFL and AFLW teams. Don’t support the AFLW? Unbelievable.

The All-Australian team and Rising Star winner were unveiled on Tuesday night as part of the season seven W Awards.

Ewings, who was the Power’s first selection (Pick 3) at the 2022 AFLW draft, polled the most votes to claim the Rising Star award.

The 18-year-old played all 10 games in Port’s inaugural AFLW season, averaging 13.5 disposals, 4.9 tackles and 3.9 clearances per outing. Her impressive form was recognised with a Rising Star nomination in Round 3.

Hannah Ewings of the Power marks. Picture: Russell FreemanSource: Getty Images

Ewings finished ahead of teammate Dowrick plus Hawthorn’s Jasmine Fleming, West Coast’s Ella Roberts and the Bulldogs’ Rylie Wilcox.

Meanwhile, nine teams were represented in this season’s All-Australian side, with Brisbane and Adelaide having four players each. Kearney’s Kangaroos teammate Jasmine Garner, who took out AFL Coaches’ Association AFLW Champion Player of the Year earlier this month, was named captain, with Brisbane’s Breanna Koenen vice-captain.

Kearney, who also won the 2018 AFLW best and fairest, has now been named in all seven All-Australian teams since the competition began in 2017.

After averaging 16.3 disposals from her nine home and away games, Kearney was named on the half-back flank. She was the only starting defender to have previously been selected in the All-Australian team, with the other four backs — Koenen, Chelsea Biddell (Adelaide Crows), Eilish Sheerin (Richmond) and Katie Lynch (Western Bulldogs) — all picked for the first time.

Emma Kearney of the Kangaroos. Picture: Michael KleinSource: News Corp Australia

Overall, 10 All-Australian debutants were named, with the other five being Greta Bodey (Brisbane Lions), Jesse Wardlaw (Brisbane Lions), Georgie Prespakis (Geelong Cats), Chloe Scheer (Geelong Cats), Amy McDonald (Geelong Cats) and the retiring Courtney Wakefield (Richmond). Prespakis was joined in the team by sister and Essendon star Madison Prespakis, who was named All-Australian for a third time.

Six players that were named in the season six All-Australian team in April retained their spots: Kearney, Garner, Nat Grider (Brisbane Lions), Ebony Marinoff (Adelaide Crows), Anne Hatchard (Adelaide Crows) and Monique Conti (Richmond). Marinoff and Garner, who were named in the starting on-ball brigade, were picked for a fifth time, while Conti, Hatchard and Chelsea Randall received selections for a fourth time.

Collingwood was one of nine teams to have no All-Australian representatives, despite having three players named in the 42-person squad.

The 2022 Season Seven AFLW All Australian selection panel was Nicole Livingstone (Chairperson), Sarah Black, Sam Virgo, Andrew Dillon, Laura Kane, Kelli Underwood, Megan Waters, Narelle Smith and Tim Harrington.

Dees beat Kangas to reach GF! | 02:08

AFLW All-Australian Season 7 2022 Team

B: Chelsea Biddell (Adelaide Crows), Breanna Koenen (Brisbane Lions — VC)

HB: Eilish Sheerin (Richmond), Katie Lynch (Western Bulldogs), Emma Kearney (North Melbourne)

C: Anne Hatchard (Adelaide), Monique Conti (Richmond), Georgie Prespakis (Geelong Cats)

HF: Kate Hore (Melbourne), Jesse Wardlaw (Brisbane Lions), Madison Prespakis (Essendon)

F: Courtney Wakefield (Richmond), Chloe Scheer (Geelong Cats)

FOLL: Breann Moody (Carlton), Jasmine Garner (North Melbourne — C), Ebony Marinoff (Adelaide)

I/C: Olivia Purcell (Melbourne), Chelsea Randall (Adelaide Crows), Nat Grider (Brisbane Lions), Greta Bodey (Brisbane Lions), Amy McDonald (Geelong Cats)

Club-by-club representatives

Adelaide Crows — 4: Chelsea Biddell, Anne Hatchard, Ebony Marinoff, Chelsea Randall

Brisbane Lions — 4: Greta Bodey, Nat Grider, Breanna Koenen, Jesse Wardlaw

Carlton — 1: Breann Moody

Collingwood — 0

Essendon — 1: Madison Prespakis

Fremantle — 0

Geelong Cats — 3: Amy McDonald, Georgie Prespakis, Chloe Scheer

Gold Coast Suns — 0

GWS Giants — 0

Hawthorn — 0

Melbourne — 2: Kate Hore, Olivia Purcell

North Melbourne — 2: Jasmine Garner, Emma Kearney

Port Adelaide — 0

Richmond — 3: Monique Conti, Eilish Sheerin, Courtney Wakefield

St Kilda — 0

Sydney Swans — 0

West Coast Eagles — 0

Western Bulldogs — 1: Katie Lynch

AFLW All-Australian squad members who didn’t make the team of 21

Ally Anderson (Brisbane Lions), Tahlia Hickie (Brisbane Lions), Mua Laloifi (Carlton), Chloe Molloy (Collingwood), Jordyn Allen (Collingwood), Lauren Butler (Collingwood), Bonnie Toogood (Essendon), Kiara Bowers (Fremantle), Meghan McDonald (Geelong Cats), Charlie Rowbottom (Gold Coast Suns), Vivien Saad (Gold Coast Suns), Alyce Parker (GWS Giants), Karen Paxman (Melbourne), Tayla Harris (Melbourne), Jenna Bruton (North Melbourne), Ellie McKenzie (Richmond), Bianca Jakobsson (St Kilda), Kate Shierlaw (St Kilda), Emma Swanson (West Coast Eagles), Alice Edmonds (Western Bulldogs), Ellie Blackburn (Western Bulldogs)

AFLW Rising Star votes

1st – Hannah Ewings, Port Adelaide. 41 votes

2nd – Abbey Dowrick, Port Adelaide. 32 votes

3rd – Jasmine Fleming, Hawthorn. 17 votes

4th – Ella Roberts, West Coast Eagles. 15 votes

5th – Rylie Wilcox, Western Bulldogs. 10 votes

6th – Tarni Evans, GWS GIANTS. 9 votes

7th – Charlotte Thomas, West Coast Eagles. 4 votes

7th – Montana Ham, Sydney Swans. 4 votes

8th – Indy Tahau, Port Adelaide. 2 votes

9th – Paige Scott, Essendon. 1 vote

Nicole Livingstone (Chair)

5. Hannah Ewings

4. Jasmine Fleming

3. Abbey Dowrick

2. Ella Roberts

1. Tarni Evans

Sarah Black

5. Hannah Ewings

4. Ella Roberts

3. Jasmine Fleming

2. Abbey Dowrick

1. Rylie Wilcox

Andrew Dillon

5. Hannah Ewings

4. Jasmine Fleming

3. Abbey Dowrick

2. Charlotte Thomas

1. Montana Ham

Tim Harrington

5. Abbey Dowrick

4. Hannah Ewings

3. Montana Ham

2. Ella Roberts

1. Charlotte Thomas

Laura Kane

5. Abbey Dowrick

4. Hannah Ewings

3. Ella Roberts

2. Jasmine Fleming

1. Charlotte Thomas

Narelle Smith

5. Abbey Dowrick

4. Tarni Evans

3. Hannah Ewings

2. Ella Roberts

1. Paige Scott

Kelli Underwood

5. Hannah Ewings

4. Abbey Dowrick

3. Tarni Evans

2. Rylie Wilcox

1. Jasmine Fleming

Sam Virgo

5. Hannah Ewings

4. Rylie Wilcox

3. Jasmine Fleming

2. Ella Roberts

1. Tarni Evans

Megan Waters

5. Hannah Ewings

4. Abbey Dowrick

3. Rylie Wilcox

2. Indy Tahau

1. Jasmine Fleming

Story Credit:

- Advertisment -

Most Popular