Tuesday, January 31, 2023
HomeAFLEvery club’s new jumpers numbers revealed, changes, rookies, recruits, what are they,...

Every club’s new jumpers numbers revealed, changes, rookies, recruits, what are they, history, latest

- Advertisement -

With a new AFL season comes new jumper numbers for draftees, recruits or otherwise.

Collingwood has made several changes, with Brayden Maynard swapping his long-worn No. 37 for the No. 4 vacated by Brodie Grundy, with the gun defender reclaiming the digit he wore growing up.

Tom Mitchell will don the No. 6 worn by his father Barry during his lone season at the club in 1993, Dan McStay and Bobby Hill have been given No. 11 and No. 23 respectively and Nick Daicos will permanently retain the No. 35 made famous by his dad Peter, ending the Magpies’ tradition of their first-round draftee getting the number.

Watch Australia v West Indies. Every test match live and ad-break in play on Kayo. New to Kayo? Start your free trial now >

Grundy will wear No. 6 at the Demons vacated by Luke Jackson, Jacob van Rooyen has switched to No. 2 and Lachie Hunter and Josh Schache have been handed No. 12 and No. 19 respectively.

At Fremantle, Jackson and Jaeger O‘Meara have been given No. 9 and No. 2 respectively.

Hawthorn also has a number of changes after its big list turnover including Jai Newcombe (No. 3), Ned Reeves (No. 7), Karl Amon (No. 10), Cooper Stephens (No. 21) and Cam McKenzie (No. 28).

Lions boom recruits Josh Dunkley (No. 5) and Jack Gunston (No. 19) will retain their old numbers and father-son draftee Will Ashcroft will wear No. 8, with his father, Marcus’ No. 10, occupied by Daniel Rich.

Elsewhere, Western Bulldogs forward Cody Weightman will step into No. 3, Rory Lobb has taken No. 7 and Liam Jones will return to the No. 19 guernsey.

Richmond has given Tim Taranto (No. 14) and Jacob Hopper (No. 22) their old numbers from GWS, while Maurice Rioli Jnr has been handed down Shane Edwards’ old No. 10.

Hipwood signs monster 6-year deal | 00:42

Speaking of passing the torch, Zak Butters has taken on Robbie Gray’s old No. 9, while Junior Rioli will don No. 15 and Jason Horne-Francis gets his old No. 18 won at North Melbourne.

Of the other top draftees, GWS’ Aaron Cadman as been given No. 2 and Kangaroos pair Harry Sheezel and George Wardlaw get No. 3 and No. 6 respectively.

Essendon, Geelong, Gold Coast, St Kilda and Sydney are still yet to announce their numbers.

See the full list of jumper number changes below.


16. Max Michalanney

22. Izak Rankine

31. Billy Dowling

40. Hugh Bond


5. Josh Dunkley

8. Will Ashcroft

13. Blake Coleman

19. Jack Gunston

25. Henry Smith

26. Conor McKenna

28. Jaspa Fletcher

34. Shadeau Brain

50. Darryl McDowell-White


13. Blake Acres

14. Ollie Hollands

26. Lachie Cowan

31. Harry Lemmey

32. Jaxon Binns

‘New era’ underway at West Coast | 00:54


4. Brayden Maynard

6. Tom Mitchell

11. Dan McStay

16. Ed Allan

17. Billy Frampton

23. Bobby Hill

24. Jakob Ryan

29. Joe Richards

35. Nick Daicos (retaining jumper to end club tradition of first-round pick wearing No. 35)




2. Jaeger O‘Meara

9. Luke Jackson





Recruiting role secures Shiels | 01:11


2. Darcy Jones

5. Aaron Cadman

14. Toby Bedford

24. Harry Rowston

31. Toby McMullin

35. Max Gruzewski

41. Nick Madden

42. Jason Gillbee


3. Jai Newcombe

7. Ned Reeves

10. Karl Amon

17. Lloyd Meek

21. Cooper Stephens

26. Fergus Greene

28. Cam McKenzie

37. Josh Weddle

41. Josh Bennetts

43. Jack O’Sullivan

44. Bailey Macdonald


2. Jacob van Rooyen

6. Brodie Grundy

12. Lachie Hunter

19. Josh Schache

21. Matt Jefferson

26. Jed Adams

28. Will Verrall

29. Joel Smith

38. Oliver Sestan

43. Kyah Farris-White

St Kilda cop massive blow with King scan | 01:27


3. Harry Sheezel

6. George Wardlaw

13. Darcy Tucker

14. Liam Shiels

15. Daniel Howe

19. Griffin Logue

33. Brayden George

37. Cooper Harvey

41. Blake Drury

45. Hamish Free


6. Kane Farrell

9. Zak Butters

15. Junior Rioli

18. Jason Horne-Francis

24. Jake Pasini

31. Francis Evans


10. Maurice Rioli jnr

13. Hugo Ralphsmith

14. Tim Taranto

22. Jacob Hopper

44. Seth Campbell

45. Tylar Young

48. Steely Green

49. Kaleb Smith






5. Jayden Hunt

7. Reuben Ginbey

8. Elijah Hewett

30. Harry Barnett

38. Jordyn Baker

43. Tyrell Dewar

44. Noah Long

45. Coby Burgiel


3. Cody Weightman

7. Rory Lobb

19. Liam Jones

Story Credit: foxsports.com.au

- Advertisment -

Most Popular